Asunción Mita, Jutiapa, Guatemala Genealogy
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Municipality of Asunción Mita ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
- According to one source, before the arrival of the Spaniards, this population inhabited the Pipiles, who had as neighbors the Poqomames in the current municipality of Santa Catarina Mita and part of El Salvador, the Ch'orti'es in the area from Chiquimula, and the Xinka's in the Santa Rosa area.
- During the colonial era was the capital of the so-called «Kingdom of Mita».
- When it was forbidden to produce indigo the locality declined, because its exploitation was adjudicated to the neighboring territory of San Salvador.
- It was stated in the state constitution that Asunción Mita - then called simply "Asunción" - was to be part of the Mita circuit.
- Asunción Mita rose to the town of Asunción Mita Villa category on February 11, 1915.
- The municipality of Asunción Mita has a population of approximately 41,000 people. 
- Registros civiles, 1878-1933 -Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- Registros civiles, 1881-1930 -Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- Registros parroquiales, 1686-1932 Click on the link to see the records’ availability.
- There are no records only for the municipality of Asunción Mita. See the records of neighboring municipalities.
- Municipal Cemetery of Asunción Mita
- Most of the villages have their own cemetery but in some cases they have buried their loved ones in some property of mourners.
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Asunción Mita," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asunci%C3%B3n_Mita . Visited 01 December 2017