To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Aston by Sutton, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Aston by Sutton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aston by Sutton, Cheshire
Aston by Sutton St Peter Cheshire.jpg
Aston by Sutton St Peter Cheshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635; For more records see Runcorn
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASTON-BY-SUTTON, is a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 1 mile (S. by W.) from Preston-Brook.[1]

Aston by Sutton St Peter was initially a chapelry in the Ancient Parish of Runcorn and included Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Sutton (near Runcorn) and a small part of Dutton, becoming a parish church in its own right from 1861.

St Peter's Church, Aston-by-Sutton is in Aston Lane in the small hamlet of Aston-by-Sutton, Cheshire near to the town of Runcorn.

The first religious building in the hamlet was a chapel of ease in the parish of Runcorn built in 1236 by Sir Thomas de Dutton which was known as the chapel of Poosey (or Pooseye).

The first chapel on the site of the present church was built in the early 16th century, not later than 1542. Following this the present chancel was built in 1697 for Sir Willoughby Aston, the architect possibly being John Vanbrugh.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Aston by Sutton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Aston by Sutton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Runcorn

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Aston by Stutton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-108.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  • Richards, Raymond (1950), "The Lesser Chapels of Cheshire: The Church of St. Peter, Aston by Sutton", Transactions of the Lancashire and Cheshire Antiquarian Society: 115–135
  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, ISBN 1871731232
  • Starkey, H. F. (1990), Old Runcorn, Halton Borough Council