Astley, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Nuneaton|
|Parish registers: 1670|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Astley St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which includes Soley End.
Astley St Mary the Virgin was rebuilt by Sir Thomas Astley in 1343. A Saxon carving of a sundial from an earlier church was preserved in the tower. Thomas Grey, 2nd Marquess of Dorset was entombed in the church in 1530. The present church dates from another rebuild in 1617 by the Chamberlayne family.
Astley, is a parish in Nuneaton district, Warwickshire; it is 3½ miles W S of Chilvers-Coton railway station, and 4½ miles SW of Nuneaton. It contains a place called Soley-End; the post office is under Nuneaton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Astley, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Astley, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1676-1843 Marr 1676-1835 Bur 1676-1843
- 1535 - 1984 - England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1984 at FamilySearch — index and images
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Date accessed: 30 Oct 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.