To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Astbury, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Astbury, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Astbury, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1572; Separate registers exist for Mossley Holy Trinity beginning 1845 and also for Odd Rode beginning 1809 and also for Somerford beginning 1691
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASTBURY (St. Mary), is a parish, that is chiefly in the union of Congleton, consisting of the townships of Eaton and Somerford-Booths in the hundred of Macclesfield, and the market-town of Congleton, and the townships of Astbury-Newbold, Buglawton, Davenport, Hulme-Walfield, Moreton with Alcumlow, Odd Rode, Radnor, Smallwood, and Somerford, in the hundred of Northwich, county of Chester. There are also churches or chapels at Congleton, Buglawton, Mossley, Rode, Smallwood, and Somerford; together with several places of worship for dissenters, in the parish. Astbury St Mary is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and originally included Davenport, Eaton, Holy Trinity, Hulme Walfield, Hulmewalfield, Moreton cum Alcumlow, Somerford Radnor, Mossley, Newbold Astbury, Odd Rode, Radnor, Somerford, Somerford Booths, and Mosley. [1]

The first church on the site was in the Saxon era but the present church dates from the 15th century. It is unusual in that its spire is at a distance from the main body of the although although it is attached to it by a porch.

A Saxon church was on the site at the time of the Domesday Book and it was replaced by a Norman church. It was originally the mother church of Congleton.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Astbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Astbury Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Wornish Nook, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1852.  Originally a Primitive Methodist  Chapel later Wesleyan.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office Document Reference EMS 94 Somerford Booths Wornish Nook Methodist Chapel
Description Various records1882-91
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems94&cid=0

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Macclesfield (1937–74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire West (post1998)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Congleton

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Astbury on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 100-104. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 13,62, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 25–30
  • Bilsborough, Norman (1983), The Treasures of Cheshire, Manchester: The North West Civic Trust, pp. 139, 141, ISBN 0901347353
  • Clifton-Taylor, Alec (1974), English Parish Churches as Works of Art, London: Batsford, ISBN 0 7134 2776 0