To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Askim Parish, Göteborg och Bohus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Askim Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Billdals Church
Mikaels Church
Askim Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Askim Parish, Göteborg och Bohus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Göteborg
Pastorat -1732 Fässbergs, Kållereds, Råda,(Västra) Frölunda, Askim and Styrsö, 1733-1879 Fässberg, Kållereds, Råda,(Västra) Frölunda and Askim, 1879-1952 Västra Frölunda and Askim, 1953- Askim
Län Göteborg och Bohus
Landskap Västergötland
Härad Askim
Tingslag 1680-1823 Askim and Östra Hising, 1824-1887 Askim, 1888-1953 Askim, Hising och Sävedal, 1954-1970 Askim and Mölndal
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1686-1739 Askim, Sävedal and Östra Hising, 1740- Göteborg
Kommun 1863-1973 Askim, 1974- Göteborg
Militär indelning 2:a Bohusläns Båtsmans-Kompani
Nya Ordin. Båtsmans-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/GLA/13013
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Ambjörnshagen, Amundö, Askim, Årekärr Lilla, Årekärr Stora, Åsen (Hult)

Backa, Billdal, Björkedal,Brottkärr Västra, Brottkärr Östra

Gatersered Norra, Gatersered Södra, Grytåskärr

Hagen, Hästebäck, Heden, Hovås Lilla, Hovås Stora, Hulan Alt, Hult, Hult Krokegården, Hult Mellangården, Hult Skomakaregården, Hult Södra, Hylte Nedre, Hylte Övrer, Hylte Rote

Kärret, Klova, Knapegård, Kobbergård, Kopparås

Lerliden, Letsegården, Lilla Åkerkärr, Lilla Hovås, Lilla Svindal, Lilla Skintebo, Lilla Storgården, Lindås

Myran

Nygård

Otterbäck

Pilgården, Pjältered, Pixbo

Sandhålan, Skintebo Lilla, Skintebo Stora, Sollid, Stora Åkerkärr, Stora Hovås, Stora Skintebo, Stora Svindal, Stora Storgården, Svindal Lilla, Svindal Stora

Uggledal

Vassgången


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Göteborg och Bohus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Göteborg och Bohus" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Askim, Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 (AI:7), Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Askim Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). June 2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/