To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Askøy Parish, Hordaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Askøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Askøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Bergenhus
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1763: Bergenhus, 1763-1919: Søndre Bergenhus
Fylke 1919-Present Hordaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Askøen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Askøen
Fogderi Nordhordland
Sorenskriveri Midthordland
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Microfilm of parish registers available at the Family History Library for Askøy clerical district). Contains the parish registers of Askøy (Strudshavn) parish with Ask chapel. Askøy (Strudshavnwas divided from Domkirken in 1741, annexed under Fjell and divided from Sund clerical district in 1813. It was under the jurisdiction of the priest serving over St. Jørgens Hospital in 1819, and united with Fjell under Fjells and Askøens sognekall in 1842 where it stayed until 1871 when Fjell and Askøy became their own clerical districts. Included Laksevåg and Loddefjord parishes until 1915. Book 3 contains some christenings for Manger parish in Manger clerical district. Records available from 1842-1931. See also Sund

Images of digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Askøy: 1742-1818, 1855-1931
Askøy/Fjell: 1801-1818
Askøy/Laksevåg: 1875-1917
Askøy/Strusshamn (Askøy): 1742-1818, 1855-1931

Census Records:[edit | edit source]

See Sund

  • 1664-1666 Census See Sund
  • 1801 Census Sund clerical district included Askøy, Laksevåg, and Loddefjord parishes, which later became part of Fjell clerical district and even later part of Askøy clerical district. It is on microfilm at the Family History Library on Film 122983 Item 2. It is online as a database at Digitalarkivet 1801-telling for 1245 Sund.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Holms, Jeanette: Jon Johannesson Sletteskog & Anna Nilsdtr Langeland pedigree chart. FHL PEDIGREE no 1755.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1702-1848: Records are found in Nordhordaland, 1702-1910 judicial district.

1848-1895: Records are found in Midhordaland judicial district which was created from Nordhordaland.

1800-1852: Some of the farms in this parish belonged to Lysekloster Estate. If the probate is not found in the district above look at Hardanger og Voss where the probates for Lysekloster were kept.

1773-1810: Clerical probate records are found in Nordhordaland Deanery.