Ashwick, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Ashwick, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Somerset, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Shepton Mallet|
|Registration District||Shepton Mallet|
|Parish registers: 1701|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1595|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ASHWICK, a parish in Shepton-Mallet district, Somerset; on the Fosseway, near Masbury camp, 3¾ miles NNE of Shepton-Mallet railway station. It includes part of the hamlet of Oakhill. There are three dissenting chapels.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538  .
Ashwick, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ASHWICK PARISH Online Records|
|FREG||1598-1913 (gaps)||1595-1913 (gaps)||1595-1913 (gaps)|
Church records on microfilm[edit | edit source]
- Bishop's transcripts for Ashwick (Church of England), 1595-1812
- Bishop's transcripts for Ashwick (Church of England), 1595-1873
Church Vital Records
- Christenings for Ashwick, (Presbyterian) 1761-1837
- Christenings for Ashwick, 1595-1812
- Births, baptisms and burials for Ashwick (Presbyterian), 1761-1837
Oakhill registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Oakhill Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax .
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, John M;, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
- England Church Records
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 February 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Land Tax Assessment Records
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.