Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Depwade|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall is a civil parish in the South Norfolk district of Norfolk Ashwellthorpe and Fundenhall Wikipedia. It is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich. Ashwellthorpe All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building Images of the church and history are found at Simon Knott's Norfolk Churches website
SHWELTHORPE (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Wymondham. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ashwellthorpe, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
Deposited records are held at the Norfolk Record Office from 1558 under reference PD 53/1-8
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- 1891 Surname Index courtesy of Pat Greetham and located on the Norfolk Transcription Archives.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Norfolk Poor Law Unions
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ashwellthorpe on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 96-100. Date Accessed: 28 August 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 14 April 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Ashwellthorpe', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.