Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. For a comprehensive listing of Ashton under Lyne St Michael Parish's links to online church record details, use the chart below under "Church Records".
|Ashton under Lyne St Michael, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Ashton Under Lyne|
|Registration District||Ashton under Lyne|
|Parish registers: 1594|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1621|
|Rural Deanery||Ashton Under Lyne|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ASHTON-UNDER-LYNE(St. Michael), is a market town, parish, parliamentary borough, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 6 miles (E.)from Manchester, 58 (S. E.)from Lancaster, and 197 (N. W. by N.) from London, comprising the parochial divisions of Ashton-town, Audenshaw, Hartshead, and Knott-Lanes. There are places of worship, and, generally, schools also, belonging to the Independents, Wesleyans, Independent Methodists, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Baptists, Stephenites, Latter-day Saints, and Israelites.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Most popular sites are FreeBMD, LancashireBMD, and the GRO(register to use; it is free).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Records[edit | edit source]
Ashton under Lyne St. Michael parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the websites and ranges of years completely listed below:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1596) Indexes|
|ASHTON UNDER LYNE CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST JAMES Chapelry (1863) Indexes|
|ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST PETER Chapelry (1826) Indexes|
|AC||Various Yrs||Various Yrs||Various Yrs|
|FREG||None||1840-1882, 1891-1908||1825-1840, 1844-1849, 1853-1858|
|AUDENSHAW ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1844) Indexes|
|BARDSLEY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1844) Indexes|
|HURST Chapelry (1849) Indexes|
|LOPC||None||1849-1907/banns to 1880||1849-1916|
|LEES (HEY) ST JOHN Chapelry (1742) Indexes - see also Rochdale St Chad Parish|
|FS||1788-1812||No marriage registers||1758-1848, 1868-1869|
|LEESFIELD Chapelry (1846) Indexes|
|MOSSLEY ST GEORGE Chapelry (1756) Indexes|
|STALEYBRIDGE OLD ST GEORGE Chapelry (1776) Indexes|
|FS||1782-1822||No marr reg. till 1864||None|
|STALEYBRIDGE NEW ST GEORGE Chapelry (1841) Indexes|
|WOODHOUSES Chapelry (1871) Indexes|
Original Records[edit | edit source]
These registers are preserved at the Manchester Archives and Local Studies Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester M2 5PD
Contact their website for contact information.
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Ashton under Lyne St Michael's parish for the years 1594-1935 (or later). These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Morling, Loreley A. The White Family of Leitrim to Lidcombe via Lancashire. History and family tree of Henry White and 1. Anne Robinson, 2, Mary Rutherford, with the following surnames. Nunnerley, Baldwin, Slenburg, Lover, Dyson, Kegg and Sargent. A branch went out to Lidcombe, N.S.W. and Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Sockiety Magazine vol. 13, no. 2, pages 16-25, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1541 - FamilySearch Digital Library Subsidy of Assheton and Moston (p. 144)
- 1622 - FamilySearch Digital Library Subsidy of Asheton (p. 155)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
- J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.