Ashover, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Ashover

Guide to Ashover, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashover, Derbyshire
Ashover All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Ashover All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Chesterfield
Registration District Belper; Chesterfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashover
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Ashover is an Ancient Parish in the county of Derbyshire. Other places in the parish include: Doehole.

ASHOVER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, partly in the hundred of Wirksworth, but chiefly in that of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. S. W.) from Chesterfield, Containing, with the chapelry of Dethwick-Lea, and the hamlet of Holloway. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Ashover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1537-1918 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC 1 = Derbyshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Derbyshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP Index = Derbyshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP = Derbyshire Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1538-1910 (MyHeritage) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ashover Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1537-1918
1537-1918
1537-1918
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1916
1754-1932
1813-1991
FMP Index 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
FMP 1538-1920
1538-1920
1539-1998
MyH PRs 1538-1910
1538-1910
1538-1910
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Derbyshire Record Office.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Chesterfield

Poor Law Unions

Chesterfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ashover on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk