Ashley County, Arkansas Genealogy
Guide to Ashley County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 2.28 Voter Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for United States Senator Chester Ashley. It is located in the southeastern area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Ashley County Courthouse
215 E Jefferson Street
Hamburg, AR 71646
Ashley County Website
County Clerk has marriage, probate, and land records from 1848.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Ashley County, Arkansas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
- 1921 - A courthouse fire in 1921 destroyed most of the county's records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
County seat: Hamburg 
- Historical boundary changes at Newberry Library site For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Events below were gleaned from the Ashley County section of Deirdre Kelley & Bill Norman, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture
- By AD 1700, the area had no permanent villages.
- 1818 - The Quapaw ceded what would be Ashley County to the United States government.
- 1826 - When U.S. surveyor Nicholas Rightor entered the Arkansas Territory , he found settlers who had come to a land that they found to be abundantly fertile and in which game and fish were plentiful.
- 1848 - November 30 - Ashley County was organized.
- 1855 - By this time, many farms were producing cotton, corn, wheat, potatoes, and livestock. Timber was rafted down the Saline River.
- Ashley County experienced solid growth in the years leading up to the Civil War. From a population of 2,058 in 1850, the county had grown to 8,590 in 1860. The Civil War interrupted this growth, so that by 1870, the population had dropped to 8,042.
- Congress’s 1867 passage of “An Act for the More Efficient Government of the Rebel States” divided the South into five districts and implemented martial law in 1868.
- 1868 - When the Fourteenth Amendment was passed , Arkansas refused to ratify it.
- 1890's - The beginning of what was to become one of Arkansas’s most important economic developments: the wood products industry.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890 — Online at Ancestry.com $
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Court records began in 1849 
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1872 — Arkansas Freedman's Bureau Office Records at FamilySearch — brows able images only; Register of contracts, letters.
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Ashley County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
- Etheridge, Y. W. History of Ashley County, Arkansas. Van Buren, Ark. : Press-Argus, 1959.
- Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890.
- See also Cities and towns for resources in the FamilySearch Catalog
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Men in Ashley County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:
- - 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company E
- - 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- - 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- - 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate).
- 1861-1865 - Arkansas Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1890-1963 - Arkansas Confederate Soldier Home,1890-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1891-1939 - Arkansas Ex-Confederate Pension Records, 1891-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1901-1929 - Arkansas Confederate Pensions, 1901-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Captain Calvin L. Collier. They'll Do To Tie To by , USAF (Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1783 – 1998 Arkansas Wills and Probate Records 1783-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1817 – 1979 Arkansas Probate Records 1817-1979 at FamilySearch — images; includes guardianships
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
|Name of Child|
|Birth Date and Place|
|Mother's Maiden Name|
|Name of Doctor or Midwife|
In 1877, a few county and city clerks started keeping birth and death records.
In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.
- Arkansas Births and Christenings, 1812-1965 at FamilySearch. (Free, index only)
- Small file, but worth searching. Most entries were user-submitted.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1779-1966 - Arkansas, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1957 — Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch Historical Records — Free; Index
- 1848 - 1920 - Ashley County Marriage Books AA-T Index 1848-1920 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1860 - 1976 - Arkansas Church Marriages, 1860-1976 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1913 - 1951 - Arkansas County Marriage Books AA-T, 1-18 Index 1913-1951 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1910 - Arkansas, County Voter Registration Records, 1868-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Ashley County
- FamilySearch Catalog - Select Places within... for cities and towns
- WorldCat - Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
- Allen County Public Library - Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
- Arkansas History Commission Select the county - Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
- Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
Sites with online indexes or images of records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Ashley County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/ashley/.
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ashley County, Arkansas. Page 67 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 65.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ashley County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashley_County%2C_Arkansas#Communities, accessed 28 August 2018.
- Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- May be used for free at a Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
- FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.