To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ashley, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ashley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashley, Cheshire
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County [Cheshire]
Poor Law Union Altrincham
Registration District Cheshire East
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Parish Bowdon

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASHLEY, a township, in the parish of Bowdon, union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of Cheshire, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Knutsford. [1]

Ashley St Elizabeth was a township in Bowdon but began a parish in 1881.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Ashley St Elizabeth Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1880-1913
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S   NONE   NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE

Ashley St Elizabeth was a township in Bowdon, created a parish in 1881.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Ashley, 1880-1969 Cheshire Record Office no.: P243/1.

Parish Registers: Ashley Film
Baptisms, 1880-1969.
1655851 Item 2
Baptisms, 1880-1969 (another filming, 1989).
1655305 Item 2

Bishop's transcripts for Ashley, 1880-1909 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 8

Bishops Transcripts: Ashley Film
Baptisms, 1880-1885, 1909.
1595462 Item 2


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

 Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1837-98)
  • Bucklow (1898-1974)
  • Macclesfield (1974-98)
  • Cheshire East (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Altrincham (1836-95)
  • Bucklow (1895-1930)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 88-90. Date accessed: 30 December 2013.

Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch