To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ashford, Cattaraugus County, New York Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ashford, Cattaraugus County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy:transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]

Libraries

The town of Ashford does not have a library but check out Cattaraugus County’s Library System to locate the towns close to Ashford that have public libraries.

Museums

Ashford Historical Society Museum
5380 School Street
West Valley, NY 14171
Phone: 716-942-3885 or 716-942-6669

Societies[edit | edit source]

Ashford Historical Society
5380 School Street
West Valley, NY 14171
Phone: 716-942-3885 or 716-942-6669

Cattaraugus County Historical Museum and Research Library
9824 Route 16
P.O. Box 352
Machias, NY 14101
Phone: (716) 353-8200

Genealogical Resources: Family genealogies, vital records, obituary and cemetery records, maps, local history information.

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

Town of Ashford, Clerk
9377 Route 240
PO Box 306
West Valley, NY 14171
Phone: 716-942-6016
Email: ashforedwv@yahoo.com

Town Historian[edit | edit source]

William King, Historian
5360 Felton Hill Rd
West Valley, NY 14171
Phone: 716-942-3223

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Ashford, Cattaraugus County, New York Genealogy check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Places[edit | edit source]