Ashdon, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Ashdon


Guide to Ashdon, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashdon, Essex
All Saints Ashdon Essex.jpg
All Saints Ashdon Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freshwell
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden; Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1533
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sampford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Ashdon (All Saints), is a village in Saffron-Walden district, Essex, and a parish chiefly in that district and county, but partly also in Linton district, Cambridgeshire. The village stands on an affluent of the river Cam, it is 3½ miles NE of Saffron-Walden, and 5½ miles ENE of Audley-End railway station; it has a post office under Cambridge. The parish includes also the hamlet of Bartlow-End. They have a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ashdon, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7][8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[10]
Ashdon, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1557-1812


ESSEX
1553-1980
1553-1957
1557-1980
FAMR

1566-1812


FREG 1653-1661, 1665-1666, 1671, 1696-1710, 1719-1912
1654-1658, 1665, 1696-1710, 1719-1909
1653-1661, 1665-1666, 1669-1671, 1696-1711, 1719-1980
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
IGI 1557-1812
1559-1755


NBI



1696-1980
PALL

1790-1812


TGEN

1557-1812


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Roman Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Union

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

Ashdon on GENUKI

References

  1. Wilson,John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 22 May 3013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. 'Essex Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  5. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  6. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  7. Batches C035961-C035962, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. Batch M035962, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.
  10. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.