Ashcott, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ashcott, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashcott, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitley
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1743; For more records see Shapwick
Bishop's Transcripts: 1586
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Glastonbury
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASHCOTT, a parish in Bridgewater district, Somerset; near the Glastonbury railway, 5 miles WSW of Glastonbury. It has a station on the railway. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Additional informaiton:

Here is a journal artical of the history of[2]Ashcott from the 7th Century to 1841 . Several names of churchwardens and overseers who lived at the abbey are given.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [3] .

Ashcott, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
ASHCOTT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1744-1895
1754-1838
1743-1912
FS 1559-1812 (gaps)


JOIN
1801-1811

MARR
1606-1837

PALL
1801-1812

SOPC 1744-1895
1754-1838
1743-1912
Church records on microfilm[edit | edit source]

Bishops Transcripts

Parish Register

Church Vital Records

Churchwarden Records

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[10] .

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Ashcott/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. Spotlight on Ashcott
  3. England Church Records
  4. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  9. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  10. Land Tax Assessment Records