To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ashby with Oby and Thurne, Norfolk
Thurne St Edmund.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Oby beginning 1563 and for Thurne beginning 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Thurne beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Thurne St Edmund is the parish church a Norman church with thatched roof. Thurne is the Saxon word for a thorn bush. 

ASHBY (St. Mary), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N.) from Acle. Thisparish, which was consolidated with those of Thirne and Oby in 1604. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1939-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ashby with Oby and Thurne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Norfolk Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1510-1997 (FamilySearch) - free
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC Transcripts = Norfolk, England, Transcripts of Church of England Baptism, Marriage and Burial Registers, 1600-1935 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 1 = Norfolk, England, Church of England Baptism, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Norfolk, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Norfolk Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP BTs = Norfolk Bishop's Transcripts Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
TGEN = Norfolk Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ashby with Oby and Thurne Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1685-1941
1685-1941
1685-1941
FS PRs 1510-1997
1510-1997
1510-1997
FS ATs
1600-1812
1600-1812
1600-1812
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC Transcripts 1600-1935
1600-1935
1600-1935
ANC 1 1535-1812
1535-1812
1535-1812
ANC 2 1813-1915
1754-1940
1813-1990
FMP 1538-1917
1538-1933
1534-1992
FMP BTs 1579-1913
1583-1925
1583-1935
TGEN 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Norfolk Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 81-85. Date accessed: 28 August 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Norfolk) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/thurne-st-edmund/ for information about he parish

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-227733-church-of-st-edmund-thurne British listed buildings

http://www.pocketnorfolkbroads.co.uk/pnbfiles/thurne.html for information about the church and village

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=78778 includes list of rectors of Thurne

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/thurne/thurne.htm Norfolk Churches with photos of the church