Ashbourne with Mapleton, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Ashbourne with Mapleton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ashbourne with Mapleton, Derbyshire|
Ashbourne St John Derbyshire
|Hundred||Appletree; Morlestone and Litchurch; Wirksworth|
|Poor Law Union||Ashbourne|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Hulland beginning 1838 and also for Mapleton beginning 1704|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662; Separate records exist for Hulland beginning 1838 and also for Mapleton beginning 1677|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Ashbourne with Mapleton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created early from Ashbourne Ancient Parish and Mapleton Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Hulland Ward Intakes, Hulland Ward Indaks, Mapleton, Hulland Ward, Newton Grange, Mappleton, Yieldersley, Hollin Ward, Holland Ward, Offcote and Underwood, Sturston, Yeldersley, and Hulland.
At Alsop, Clifton, and Parlich are additional churches. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Independents, and others. The poor-law union of Ashbourn comprises 61 parishes and townships, of which 17 are in Staffordshire. In the neighborhood formerly stood a chapel dedicated to St. Mary..
YELDERSLEY, a hamlet, in the parish of Ashbourn, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (E. S. E.) from Ashbourn.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Mapleton like this:
MAPPLETON, a village and a parish in Ashborne district, Derby. The village stands on the river Dove, at the boundary with Stafford, 1¾ mile NW of Ashborne r. station. The living is a rectory, annexed to the vicarage of Ashborne, in the diocese of Lichfield.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ashbourne with Mapleton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's = England, Derbyshire, Church of England Parish Registers, 1537-1918|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|Ashbourne St Oswald Parish (1538) Online Records|
Ashbourne Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap1662-1857 Marr 1662-1857 Bur 1662-1857
To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Ashbourne on GENUKI