To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ash (near Sandwich), Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ash (near Sandwich)

Guide to Ash near Sandwich, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Ash (near Sandwich), Kent
Ash St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Ash St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wingham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1547 - Court of the Exempt Jurisdiction of Wingham; Post-1546 - Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASH-Near-Sandwich (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Wingham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (E.) from Wingham. There are two small places of worship for Wesleyans; and a free school.[1]

Ash is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Ash Dover Wikipedia and includes the villages of Ash, Westmarsh, Ware and Hoaden.

Ash St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury and adjoinsStaple, Kent Ancient Parish. It is one of the most extensive parishes and in 1849West Marsh, Kent was formed within the parish boundary. The church there closed and modern parish of Ash with Westmarsh was formed; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A Church near you

The church of St Nicholas, The Street, Ash has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Edward Hasted's 'Parishes: Ash', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 191-224. at British History Online andKent Churches website

This village should not be confused with Ash (near Ridley), Kent

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ash (near Sandwich) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ash (near Sandwich) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Ash next Sandwich are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Ash-next-Sandwich, 1841-1891

The Family History Library have introduced "next Sandwich" to differentiate between the parish and civil Parish and Ash near Wrotham in the Sevenoaks district elsewhere in the county ( Ash (near Ridley), Kent )It is more usual to refer to Ash Dover as the civil parish is within the Dover District of the county for administrative and local government purposes.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Eastry Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 77-81. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk