Ash, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ash Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ash, Somerset
Ash Holy Trinity Somerset.jpg
Ash Holy Trinity Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Martock
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Archives and Local Studies

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ASH, a hamlet and a chapelry in Martock parish, Somerset. The hamlet stands near the Durston and Yeovil railway, 3 miles Sw of Ilchester.[1]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Ash, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
ASH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1845-1894

1845-1901
NBI

1845-1964
Church records on microfilm[edit | edit source]

Bishops transcripts

Parish Registers

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions[5]. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.


Yeovil Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Ash/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. England and Wales Poor Law


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.