Arvidsjaur Parish, Norrbotten, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Arvidsjaur Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arvidsjaur church


History[edit | edit source]

In the time of Johan III, a patch chapel was built in Arvidsjaur, where the parish of Piteå parish held a service at the market days. During Charles IX's efforts to arrange the church conditions in the Lapland, a special pastor was probably appointed in 1607 in Arvidsjaur, after the Sami in Simonjaur, Locktaby and Arvidsjaur the previous year united to build a common church.

In 1614, the parish returned as an annex under Piteå parish and remained so until 1640, when Piteå Lapland was definitely separated from Piteå parish and was divided into the parishes of Arjeplog, Arvidsjaur, Nasafjäll and Silbojokk. According to resolution 1696, Arvidsjaur was placed in 1700 as an annex under Arjeplog, but in 1735 became its own pastorate again.

In 1862, Malå parish was broken out of Arvidsjaur parish. Arvidsjaur and Malå parish formed a joint pastorate until 1884. After that, the parishes each formed a pastorate.

In 1837, the parishes of Arjeplog and Arvidsjaur were transferred from Västerbotten County to Norrbotten County. Malå parish was returned in 1868 to Västerbotten County.

Arvidsjaur parish was divided in 1923 into two church registration districts; Arvidsjaur's Church Accounting District (Arvidsjaur's Church Archives) and Glommersträsk's Church Accounting District (see Glommersträsk Church Archives). The division was valid until June 30, 1991, when the population register was transferred to the tax authorities.

Of the identified places in house examination books, the following villages later belong to other parishes: Gransele (AI: 1-6, later Lycksele) Gråträsk (AI: 1, later Piteå county), Kvarnliden (AI: 6, later Jörn), Kåtaselet (AI: 2- 5, later Jörn), Missenträsk (AI: 2-4, later Jörn), Risnabben (AI: 5-6, later Jörn), Rörträsk (AI: 2-6, later Jörn) and Stenträsk (AI: 3, later Jörn ).

Arvidsjaur Parish, Norrbotten, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift -1647 Uppsala ärke, 1647-1904 Härnösand, 1904- Luleå
Pastorat 1606-1614 its own pastorat, 1614-1635 annex parish in Piteå and Arvidsjaur pastorat, 1635-1640 annex parish Piteå, Arvidsjaur and Silbojokk pastorat, 1640-1700 its own pastorat, 1700-1743 annex parish in Arjeplog and Arvidsjaur, 1735-1862 its own pastorat, 1862-1884 mother parish in Arvidsjaur and Malå pastorat, 1884- its own pastorat
Län -1837 Västerbotten, 1837- Norrbotten
Landskap Lappland
Härad add here
Tingslag 1734-1941 Arvidsjaurs (lappmarks), 1942-1970 Arvidsjaurs and Arjeplogs
Domsaga 1680-1720 Västerbottens lappmarkers, 1720-1742 Södra lappmarken, 1742-1820 Västerbottens södra kontrakts, 1821-1831 Lappmarksjuridiktionen, 1832-1876 Västerbottens norra, 1877-1970 Piteå, 1971- Piteå tingsrätts
Fögderi 1720-1727 Västerbottens norra, 1728-1809 Södra Lappmarks, 1810-1866 Norrbottens södra Lappmarks, 1867-1917 Piteå, 1918-1945 Luleå, 1946- Arvidsjaurs
Kommun 1863- Arvidsjaur
Militär indelning Norrbottens Fältjägare-Corps'
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010008
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link

Arvidsjaur has nothing to do with the man's name Arvid. Instead it is a misinterpretation of the Ume Sami word árviesjávrrie, which derives from árvies ("generous" or "giving plenty" and jávrrie ("lake"), referring to fishing in the nearby lake of the same name. "Aruens järff by" was in 1607 the name of the Sami village, where Arvidsjaur's church was built. [1]

Arvidsjaur parish was in 1606 separated from Piteå parish, but was reincorporated into Piteå parish in 1614 as a so called "annexförsamling", a minor parish belonging to a main parish. In 1640 Arvidsjaur again became a proper parish, as at the same time were the parishes Arjeplog, Silbojokk and Nasafjäll. In 1862 Malå socken was separated from Arvidsjaur. [3]

The allotted soldiers within the parish belonged to the Norrbotten's Regiment. [4]

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Abborträsk, Afuawiken, Afvaviken, Afvawiken, Afwawiken, Akkavara, Arvidsjaur, Arwitsjaur, Aspliden, Asplund, Aucksjaur, Aukjaur, Auksjaur, Auktjaur, Autjekjaur, Autsjaur

Backtjaur, Backtjejaur, Backtåjve, Bakksjaur, Baksjaur, Baktjaur, Baktjejaur, Baktsjaur, Baktåive, Baktåiwe, Baktåjve, Barkonjunne, Barkonjuonne, Bastusele(t), Batsatjaur, Batzatjaur, Beckertsjaur, Bekkertjaur, Betsajaur, Björklund, Björknäs, Bokberg, Bokberget, Boksele(t), Brändlund, Brännan, Brännlund, Bränntjärn, Brännträsk, Bräntjern, Bränträsk, Bäcklund, Bäcknäs, Bätsatjaur

Carlgård

Deppes, Dippe, Dippes, Doldemjaur, Douldemjaur, Duldemjaur, Dunliden, Duoldemjaur

Ersnäs

Fiskträsk, Fjellbonäs, Fjällbonäs, Forssnäs, Fridstad, Fristaden, Fårberg, Fårberget, Fårträsk

Gallejaur, Gardnejaur, Garnejaur, Gartevare, Gelfejaur, Geppejaur, Gickjaur, Gilfejaur, Glommersliden, Glom(m)ers-träsk, Granberget, Granliden, Granlund, Gransele, Grundsele(t), Grundträskliden, Grundträsk Norra, Grundträsk Södra, Guckisjaur, Gukkisjaur, Gullesjaur, Gullön Hedberget, Hjertejaur, Hjulträsk, Hjärtejaur, Hundberget, Hverbejaur, Hverpejaur, Hvoudnajaur, Hvåudnejaur, Hålberg, Hålberget, Hållberget, Häbbersträsk, Hällberget, Hällsele(t), Högbränna, Högheden, Höglund, Högnäs

Idträsk

Jerfojaur, Jerfträsk, Jerfträsket, Jerfvesjaur, Jervesjaur, Jerwesjaur, Julträsk, Järfojaur, Järfträsk(et), Järtejaur

Kalfträsk, Kalper, Kardnejaur, Kelfjaur, Keppejaur, Kersonäs, Kickjaur, Kikjaur, Kikkejaur, Kik(k)jaur Västra, Kik(k)jaur Östra, Kilfejaur, Kilfvejaur, Kiliså, Kilisånäs, Killesån, Kirisånäs, Kjeppejaur, Kläppen, Kokträsk(et), Krokberget, Kroknäs, Krokträsk, Kukkesjaur, Kukkisjaur, Kåtaliden, Kåtasele(t), Kåtesoen, Kyrkoplatsen, Kyrkostaden

Lainejaur, Lajnejaur, Lambur, Lambor, Lappträsk, Laucor, Laukaur, Lauker, Laukor, Leevatn, Levatn, Levattn, Levattnet, Lewat(t)n, Lewattnet, Lindås, Ljusträsk, Lomträsk, Lundbacken, Långsele(t), Långträsk, Långudden, Löfudden, Löfviken

Maddejaur, Mader, Mahlåträsk, Malmesjaur, Malå, Malån, Malånäs, Malåträsk, Mantnesjaur, Maosjaur, Maunesjaur, Mausjaur, Misneträsk, Missenträsk, Missneträsk, Missnträsk(et), Missträsket, Mitsneträsk, Moschessele, Mosches selle, Moskesoen, Moskosele, Myrträsk, Månsträsk, Måskesoen, Måskoselet, Mörtberg,Mörtselet, Mörttjern, Mörtudden

Niällejaur, Njallejaur, Njelejaur, Njellejaur, Njurge, Njållaberget, Njållavare, Njållaware, Njällejaur, Nordanås, Norrafvanäs, Norravanäs, Nyborg, Nygård, Nyliden, Nylund, Nyträsk, Nyvall, Nywall, Nywallen, Näfverliden, Näsberg(et)

Palkovara, Pettersudden, Pilträsk, Pitelf, Pitheå elf, Pithomäno, Pithå Elf, Pitomäno, Pitälf, Piäskjaur, Pjesker, Pjeskejaur, Pjäskejaur, Pjäsker, Prestbordet, Prestgården, Prästgården

Quarnliden, Quotejaur, Qvarnliden, Qvorbejaur, Qvoutejaur, Qvuorbevare, Qvuotejaur, Qvuoutejaur

Renborg, Rengårdsheden, Rentjern, Rentjernberget, Rentjärn, Renträsk, Renvallen, Renviken, Renwallen, Retsele, Ripeloukt, Ripeluokt, Risnabben, Rättsele(t), Rönberget, Rönliden, Rönnberget, Rönnliden, Rörträsk, Röträsk

Sandforss, Sandnäs, Sandträsk, Sandträsket, Sandträskliden, Sandviken, Sejejaur, Serrejaur, Siksjön, Sjöträsk, Skaraborg, Skatträsk, Skeppträsk, Skinäs, Skogträsk, Skurberg(et), Skäggejaur, Skäppträsk, Slefoonäs, Slefvånäs, Slefånäs, Släppejaur, Släppeträsk, Släppträsk, Solojaur, Soloåive, Soloåiwe, Srettjomvare, Stenträsk, Stjiggejaur, Storberget, Storträsk, Stretjomvare, Strettjomvare, Strettjomware, Strittje = Strettjomvare, Suddesjaur, Suddisjaur, Sundsnäs, Suttesjaur, Suttisjaur, Svanträsk, Svartliden, Swanträsk, Såkeware, Såkkeware, Södra Långträsk

Tallberget, Tallträsk, Tiatzjaur, Timberheden, Timmerheden, Tja(c)ktjejaur, Tjappsåiwe, Tjap(p)såive, Tjernberget, Tjäggejaur, Tjärnberget, Treskiftet

Utterliden, Utterträsk

Vestlunda, Vestra Kik(k)jaur, Vistejaur, Vuodnejaur, Vuorbejaur, Vuotnejaur, Vuotner, Vuoudnejaur, Vuoutner, Västra Kik(k)jaur

Wargliden, Westanås, Westlunda, Wistejaur, Wuodnejaur, Woutnejaur, Wuorbejaur, Wuoutnejaur, Wuoutner, Wästra Kik(k)jaur, Wästra Långträsk, Wågträsk

Åberget, Ånäset

Öberget, Östlunda, Östra Kik(k)jaur


N. B. Many place names above are variations of (mis)spellings, as there was no general Swedish orthography until mid 19th century. There may exist more alternative (mis)spellings than those mentioned above.

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Arjeplog, Jokkmokk, Jörn, Malå (from 1862), Norsjö, Piteå landsförsamling, Sorsele, Älvsby (Elvsby)


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.) Sweden, Norrbotten Church Records, 1612-1923; index 1658-1860 at FamilySearch.

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Norrbotten Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Norrbotten" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Online Lessons - Reading Scandinavian Handwriting:

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:2 1772-1802

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:3 1803-1813

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:4 1813-1823

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:5 1823-1833

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd. AI:6 1834-1845

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:7 1846-1851, Ortregister.

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:8 1852-1863

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:9 1863-1874

Arvidsjaur parish, Husförhörslängd, AI:10 1875-1884

Arvidsjaur parish, Födda, vigda, döda C:2, 1773-1848

Arvidsjaur parish, Födda, vigda, döda C:3, 1849-1891


[1] Arvidsjaur, Swedish Wikipedia

[3] Bylund, Erik (1956). Koloniseringen av Pite lappmark t.o.m. år 1867. Geographica: skrifter från Uppsala universitets geografiska institution nr 30. Uppsala

[4] Adm historik för Arvidsjaur socken (Klicka på församlingsposten). Källa: Nationella arkivdatabasen, Riksarkivet.

For the parish history, see "Visa historik för Arvidsjaur kyrkoarkiv" under Arvidsjaur (Norrbotten) in Riksarkivet.