Arnold, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Nottinghamshire
Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Arnold, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Arnold, Nottinghamshire
Arnold St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Arnold St Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1544
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

ARNOLD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtowand of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (N. by E.) from Nottingham with part of the hamlet of Daybrook. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Wesleyans of the New Connexion, Baptists, and Independents; and a Chartist meeting-house.[1]

Additional information:

Arnold St Mary is an Ancient parish which includes Daybrook within the parish boundary.See Daybrook, Nottinghamshire

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Arnold St Mary

The church was restored in 1868,1877and 1923 but dates from in part from the 12th century and has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Arnold St Mary Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Arnold parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Nottinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC = Nottinghamshire, England, Extracted Church of England Parish Records, 1538-1837 (Ancestry) - ($)
TGEN = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Arnold Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP 1538-1917
1528-1929
1539-1917
ANC 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN

1538-1905


JOIN

1538-1837


BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1909
IGI



FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Nottinghamshire Archives.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupations

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan,  Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978.  For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no.  date, surname, given name, and description.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n -  the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.-

  • England Jurisdictions 1851
  • Vision of Britain
  • Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan.  Arnold Inclosure 1793.This is an alphabetical list of land/property owners with reference to an inclosure map.  Map is not included, but is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref EA 109/1. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 129, pages 1-2. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. PR3944.

Websites

Arnold in GENUKI Arnold

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk