Armstrong County, Pennsylvania Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Armstrong County, Pennsylvania ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Kittanning
Organized: March 12, 1800
Parent County(s): Allegheny, Lycoming, Westmoreland[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clarion  • Butler  • Indiana  • Jefferson  • Westmoreland
Courthouse
Armstrong County, Pennsylvania Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Armstrong County PA Map.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This page adopted by:
PA Roots and its members
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

It is named for John Armstrong, who represented Pennsylvania in the Continental Congress and served as a major general during the Revolutionary War. It is located in the west-central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Armstrong County Courthouse
450 Market St.
Kittanning, PA 16201
Phone: (724) 543-2500
Orphan's Court, (724) 548-3220
Prothonotary and Clerk of Courts , (724) 548-3252
Armstrong County Courthouse

Armstrong County, Pennsylvania Record Dates[edit | edit source]

County Register and Recorder has birth, death and burial records 1893-1905, marriage records from 1895, and probate and land records from 1805[3]


Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1895 1893 1805 1805 1805 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1906. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • Formed from Allegheny, Lycoming and Westmoreland Counties 12 March 1800.[5]
  • County seat: Kittanning[6]
  • 1771-1772 The future southern 1/3 of today's Armstrong County became part of Bedford County; the rest remained unsettled.
  • 1773: The future southern 1/3 of Armstrong was incorporated into Westmoreland County when Westmoreland was formed 26 February 1773.
  • 1785: For the first time, the future northern 2/3 of Armstrong became part Northumberland County; the future southern 1/3 remains in Westmoreland County.
  • 1796: The future northern 2/3 was subdivided, with most becoming part of Lycoming County and the rest part of Allegheny County; lower 1/3 remains in Westmoreland County.
  • 11 March 1839: Clarion County was set off, resulting inArmstrong County's current boundaries. [7]

For animated maps illustrating Pennsylvania county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Pennsylvania County Boundary Maps" (1673-1878) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Historic communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Armstrong County, Pennsylvania online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 2,399
1810 6,143 156.1%
1820 10,324 68.1%
1830 17,701 71.5%
1840 28,365 60.2%
1850 29,560 4.2%
1860 35,797 21.1%
1870 43,382 21.2%
1880 47,641 9.8%
1890 46,747 −1.9%
1900 52,551 12.4%
1910 67,880 29.2%
1920 75,568 11.3%
1930 79,298 4.9%
1940 81,087 2.3%
1950 80,842 −0.3%
1960 79,524 −1.6%
1970 75,590 −4.9%
1980 77,768 2.9%
1990 73,478 −5.5%
2000 72,392 −1.5%
2010 68,941 −4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. For members, they may contain: age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage date and maiden name; death/burial date. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, see Pennsylvania Church Records.

Armstrong county pennsylvania churches.png

County-wide Database
Multi-denominational

Contains church records of:
  • Apollo: Apollo United Methodist Church
  • Chicora: St. Paul's United Church of Christ
  • Elderton: Elderton United Presbyterian Church
  • Gilpin: Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Kiskiminetas: Boiling Springs Presbyterian Church
  • Kittanning: St. Paul's Episcopal Church
  • Leechburg: Greystone United Presbyterian Church
  • Manorville: Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Redbank: St. Mary's Episcopal Church

Catholic

  • "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronolgy, map, county-by-county information.

Lutheran

Presbyterian
In 1802 two Presbyterian churches were organizes about eight miles apart on the west side of the Allegheny River in Buffalo Township. From those two churches sprang all the Presbyterian churches in the county. [9]

Calvin United Presbyterian Church, Apollo

First Presbyterian Church, Apollo

First Presbyterian Church, Kittanning

Presbyterian Church, Brady's Bend


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For information about records kept in the Orphan's court, Prothonotary Court, Court of Common Pleas, and other courts in counties of Pennsylvania, visit the Pennsylvania Court Records Wiki page.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For online resources, passenger lists, and specific groups coming to Pennsylvania, see Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

For groups that came, see People section of the Pennsylvania Emigration page.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

The Orphan's Court ensures the best interests of those not capable of handling their own affairs: minors, incapacitated persons, decedents' estates, and more.[10]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location and reveal family relationships. Records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, maps and more. For more information, see Pennsylvania Land and Property.

Land records in Armstrong County began in 1805. These records are filed with the Register and Recorder office in Kittanning, Pennsylvania.

Online Land Records

Maps

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Franklin CountyCumberland CountyYork CountyWashington CountyFrederick CountyCarroll CountyPA ADAMS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Maps

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
Men living in what is now Armstrong County (then Westmoreland County) served in the 8th Pennsylvania Regiment.[11]

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. For more information, see Pennsylvania Naturalization

Naturalization Records available for Armstrong County, Pennsylvania include the following:

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Newspapers may contain obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings. Newspapers are often found in local or university libraries, historical or genealogical societies, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published. See Pennsylvania Newspapers for more information.

Newspapers of Armstrong County

Online Newspapers

To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts

  • Shirley, Carmella Corcetti (collected and arranged), Marriages and anniversaries: taken from the Leader Times newspapers, 1922-1962-1997-1998-1999-200 the Vandergrift News, 1997-1998-1999-2001 (Chicora, Pennsylvania:Mechling Bookbindery, c2002) FHL book 974.88 V2sc

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died or where family members lived. Local libraries or societies may have indexes or other sources.

Online Obituary Abstracts

Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts

  • Shirley, Carmella Corcetti, Obituary Abstracts from Armstrong County, Pennsylvania, Newspapers (Butler, Pennsylvania, Mechling Bookbindery, c1997,c2002) FHL book 974.888 V48s v. 1,2

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate matters in Armstrong County are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created.

In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates; appointments of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills; inheritance tax appeals, and various petitions and motions.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. For the most complete set of records, contact the County Orphans' Court.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For more information, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

  • 1726 - 1930 Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 index. Not complete for all years. This collection is an index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
  • 1852 - 1854 Pennsylvania Births Ancestry $
  • 1897 - 1971 Armstrong County Birth Index, Volumes 5-23, 1897-1971 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Pennsylvania marriages were created by county officials. Contact Armstrong County Courthouse

Death[edit | edit source]

Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. For indexes and records, 1906 and later, see Pennsylvania Vital Records.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary located at the county courthouse.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Armstrong County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.

National Archives at Philadelphia
14700 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1096
Phone: (215) 305-2044
Fax:(215) 305-2052
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries


Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Armstrong County. For state-wide library facilities, see Pennsylvania Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Armstrong County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Pennsylvania Societies.

  • Armstrong County Historical Museum and Genealogical Society
    300 N Mckean St
    Kittaning, PA 16201-1373
    Phone: (724) 548-5707
    The Society has collected historical and genealogical records including family and church histories.
  • Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armstrong_County,_Pennsylvania accessed 2/1/2017
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Armstrong County, Pennsylvania, p.588
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pennsylvania.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Armstrong County, Pennsylvania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armstrong_County,_Pennsylvania#Communities, accessed 12 January 2020.
  9. Robert Walter Smith, History of Armstrong County, Pennsylvania (Tucson, Arizona: W.C. Cox, 1974), p. 38. FHL film 1000541 item 1; A digital version of this work is available at FamilySearch.
  10. The Philadelphia Courts at Common Pleas accessed 10 July 2012
  11. Harold Frederic, William C. Frederick III with William J. McMaster Sr., Path of Blood: The Untold Story of the Kittanning PA. Regiment in the American Revolution (Kittanning, Pa.: W.C. Frederick, 1998). FHL Book 974.8 M2ff