Armenia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Armenia family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Armenia Wiki Topics
Flag of Armenia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Armenia Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Armenia is a country in Eurasia bordered by Turkey, Georgia, Nagorno-Karabakh Republic, Azerbaijan, and Iran. Armenia was once incorporated in the boundaries of the Soviet Union. The official language is Armenian.

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Before jumping into records for this country, you MUST know the name of the village in which your ancestor lived.

Strategies for researching ancestors who lived during the Russian Empire era (pre-1917):

1. Identify the standard spelling of the town using the 1880 gazetteer. (See the Ėrivan Gubernia Gazetteers page.)
2. Use the 1880 gazetteer and maps to determine the approximate location of the village. (See the Ėrivan Gubernia Maps page.)
3. Check to see if there are tax lists available for the village of interest for a relevant time period. If so, follow the family through the tax lists starting with the most recent relevant list and work backwards. (See the Ėrivan Gubernia Taxation page.)
4. Determine if there are religious records available for the village. Use religious records to supplement and verify information found in the tax lists. Keep in mind that the closest religious center (i.e. churches, mosques, etc.) may be in a nearby village so check the 1880 gazetteer to see if any villages nearby had religious centers. (Caution! The 1880 gazetteer sometimes does not note that a village had a religious center even when it did. Use the tips on the Ėrivan Gubernia Religious Records page to check for religious records just in case!)


If you have specific questions about researching ancestors from Armenia/the former Ėrivan province of the Russian Empire, sign up for a Virtual Genealogy Consultation (choose "Ancestors in Armenia") or post your questions to the FamilySearch Community - Russian Empire Genealogy Research group.

Getting Started with Armenia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Armenia research.


Armenia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Armenia research.

Ask the FamilySearch Community

Armenia Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Armenia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Modern Provinces[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Armenia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

11 provinces (created in 1995)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are resources that can assist you in researching your family.

FamilySearch Learning Center Classes

Other Online Classes

  • Фестиваль ГенЭкспоЮг - 8:33:08 - Соня Мирзоян [Ереван, Армения] "Документы общественно-благотворительных организаций Юга России как источник по генеалогии"
  • Armenian Genealogy Tutorials *The primary focus of these videos is researching Armenian ancestors in the United States, Turkey, Lebanon, Syria, Greece, Israel, Jordan, etc.

Genealogical Research Strategy Session

FamilySearch Community

References[edit | edit source]