|Armenia Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Overview[edit | edit source]
General: Censuses were not conducted until the 20th century. Tax and family lists were compiled in order to identify the population prior to implementation of census taking in Armenia. The census records include individual cards for genocide survivors arriving after the 1922 census.
Time period: 1922-present.
Contents: Head of household, social status, names of family members, their ages, family relationships, residence; other details may vary.
Location: Modern History Archive, Yerevan.
Population coverage: 90% coverage of the population.
Census Records at the Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has over 450 rolls of microfilms containing Census records from Armenia.
Available Census Records:[edit | edit source]
Prisoners in Armenia, 1923-1928 - Click here for details.
Armenian National Census, 1923 - Click here for details.
Executive Committee Members, 1924 - Click here for details.
Armenian National Census, 1926 - Click here for details.
Armenian National Census, 1929 - Click here for details. Appears to be only available for the Leninakan area.
Executive Committee Members, 1931 - Click here for details.
The national censuses of the Armenian Socialist Republic for 1923 and respective years are arranged by head of household and locality. Multiple localities of the same name are found listed as usual along with the rest. If there is a document where the locality differs from the heading under which it is listed, it is put in parentheses and easily detected. Soviet military units are also listed. An inventory is also contained. The text is kept in Armenian and Russian.
Family Lists[edit | edit source]
Research use: Identify residence, heads of household, and family size. Used in conjunction with parish registers to ensure that all family members are identified.
Record type: Civil record of family members.
General: Kept in the period after tax lists were compiled to maintain an accounting of the population.
Time period: 1886-1922.
Contents: Names of family members, birth dates, nationality, religion, social class, and information on persons who married into the family or who died after the record was initially compiled.
Location: Historical Archive, Yerevan.
Percentage in Family History Library: 100% of known lists.
Population coverage: 45% coverage of the population.
References[edit | edit source]
- The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Armenia,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1990-1999.