Arkesden, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Arkesden


Guide to Arkesden, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arkesden, Essex
St Mary Arkesden Essex.jpg
St Mary Arkesden Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Uttlesford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Saffron Walden
Registration District Saffron Walden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1690
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Arkesden (St Mary the Virgin), is a parish in Saffron-Walden district Essex, it is 2 1/2 miles W of Newport railway station, and 5 miles SW of Saffron-Walden. The post town is, Newport under Bishop Stortford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Arkesden, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Arkesden, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1690-1837


ESSEX
1690-1875
1690-1957
1690-1915
FREG 1690-1875
1690-1900
1690-1903
NBI



1690-1915
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Saffron Walden Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex

Arkesden on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: accessed date 3 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 4 September 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.