Arkansas Archives and Libraries
|Arkansas Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Many archives and libraries have resources such as maps, gazetteers, and other place-finding aids to help you locate information about Arkansas. They may have collections of previous research, such as family and local histories and biographies. Many have record-finding aids such as guides to their own collections or inventories of records housed elsewhere in the state.
The following archives, libraries, and societies have collections or services that are helpful for genealogical research:
Wiki Articles on Major Repositories in Arkansas[edit | edit source]
Arkansas History Commission · Downtown Branch Central Arkansas Library System · Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives · University of Arkansas · National Archives at Fort Worth · Dallas Public Central Library
Archives[edit | edit source]
beta worldcat.org archivegrid
Identify participating Arkansas Archives and contact information, search their collections
Arkansas State Archives (formerly Arkansas History Commission)
Department of Arkansas Heritage
1100 North Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: (501) 324-9150 (Dept of Arkansas Heritage)
Phone: (501) 682-6900 (Arkansas State Archives)
The Arkansas Records Catalog provides quick and easy access to detailed descriptions of primary source materials maintained by archives, special collections, libraries, historical societies, and museums across the state, bringing together collection guides from many of Arkansas’s repositories to help you to locate historical documents and learn where you can gain access to the physical records you seek.
Online collections include:
*1911 Confederate Veterans Questionnaires
*Confederate Pension Records
*World War I Discharge Records
National Archives at Fort Worth
501 West Felix Street, Building 1
Fort Worth, Texas 76115-3405
Phone: (817) 831-5620
Fax: (817) 551-2034
The National Archives at Fort Worth have records created by federal agencies and courts in Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas. The archives has microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, passenger arrival lists, military records, and other historical resources. How to use this collection.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
The Butler Center for Arkansas Studies
Arkansas Studies Institute
401 President Clinton Ave.
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201
Phone: (501) 320-5700
The Arkansas Studies Institute is a joint project of the Central Arkansas Library System (CALS) and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.
University of Arkansas Libraries
Special Collections Department
365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Phone: (479) 575-5577
FAX: (479) 575-3472
Arkansas Public Libraries listed by Cities
Select also tabs for Colleges, Obituaries, Presidential Libraries, Public Records, US State Libraries
- Arkansas State Library
Family History Library
35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84150
The Family History Library of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints houses a collection of genealogical records that include names of more than three billion deceased people. It’s the largest collection of its kind in the world. Collections include digitized historical records, microfilms and microfiche, books, maps, and much more. Explore at FamilySearch.org.
Introduction to Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. These local centers are staffed by volunteers and have varying hours and resources so call to verify their hours in advance.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Arkansas Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 26374
Little Rock, Arkansas 72221
Arkansas Online Records[edit | edit source]
Reference Guides[edit | edit source]
- Baker, Russell Pierce. Guide to Microfilmed County Records at the Arkansas History Commission. Alexander, Arkansas: Professional Genealogists of Arkansas, 1989. FHL book 976.7 A1 no. 140 At various libraries (WorldCat).
To learn more about the history and record-keeping systems of Arkansas counties, use the inventories of the county archives published by the Historical Records Survey around 1940. Copies of many of these inventories can be found in the FamilySearch Catalog with a place-name search using the name of the county and selecting the topic, "Archives and Archives and Libraries - Inventories, registers, catalogs."
Websites[edit | edit source]
You can find computerized research tips and information about ancestors from Arkansas in a variety of sources at local, state, national, and international levels. The list of sources is growing rapidly. Most of the information is available at no cost. The following sites are important gateways linking you to many more sites:
Arkansas Digital Archives - This site has a large number of both primary and secondary resources available for genealogical and historical research, and its collections are always growing. There are many indexes for County Records, Death, Land and Military Records, Newspapers and other categories.
ARGenWeb - a cooperative effort by many volunteers to list genealogical databases, libraries, bulletin boards, and other resources available on the Internet for each county and state.
CyndisList (AR) - a major portal linking to a variety of family history sites