Arkansas, United States Genealogy
Guide to Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Arkansas Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Arkansas Information[edit | edit source]
Arkansas became the twenty-fifth state in the Union on June 15, 1836. It is located in the southeastern region of the United states and was called, Arkansas Territory before being admitted into the United States Arkansas has 75 counties and its capital is Little Rock. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Arkansas Research
Links to articles on getting started with Arkansas research.
Arkansas Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Arkansas research.
Arkansas Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Hot Spring
- Little River
- St. Francis
- Van Buren
Arkansas Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
- Arkansas River
- Mississippi River
- Ouachita River
- Red River
- St. Francis River
- White River
- Butterfield Overland Mail
- California Road
- Great Osage Indian Trail also called the Old Wire Road
- Natchitoches Trace
- Southwest Trail
- Tombigbee and Arkansas River Trail
- Trail of Tears
- Frisco Railway
- Texas and Pacific Railway
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Arkansas Commissioner of State Lands - Historical Documents, Maps & More
- Cyndi's List - Arkansas genealogy sites on the internet
- Arkansas Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Arkansas
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Arkansas
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Arkansas genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Arkansas
- Arkansas Trails to the Past - includes links to Trail of Tears, Slave Narratives, Japanese Internment Camps, Civil War Units and other resources
- Arkansas Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Arkansas " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arkansas (accessed 15 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 1 Nov 2016.