E-mail: Arizona State Archives Reference Question
- 1901 W Madison St
- Phoenix, AZ 85009
Hours and holidays: Mondays through Fridays 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Closed on Arizona state holidays.
Directions, maps, and public transportation:
- Directions. The Polly Rosenbaum Archives and History Building, and the Arizona Records Management Center (not open to the public) are next to one another along 19th Avenue.
- From the North. Take Interstate 17 south to the Jefferson Street exit. Turn left (east) onto Jefferson Street (it's a one-way street) and drive approximately one-half mile to 19th Avenue and turn right (south), then right (west) onto Madison. Entrance to parking is on the left (south).
- From the South.Take Interstate 17 north to the 19th Avenue exit. Turn right (north) onto 19th Avenue and go approximately 1 mile to Madison and turn left (west), at which point you will see parking to your left in the front of the building.
- From the West. Take Interstate 10 east to Interstate 17 south to the Jefferson Street exit. Turn left (east) onto Jefferson Street (it's a one-way street) and drive approximately one-half mile to 19th Avenue and turn right (south), then right (west) onto Madison. Entrance to parking is on the left (south).
- From the East. Take Interstate 10 west to the 19th Avenue exit. Turn left (south) onto 19th Avenue and go approximately one and one-half mile to Madison, then turn right (west). At this point you will see parking on the left in front of the building.
- Public Transportation. Valley Metro Bus Route 19 stops 1½ blocks north of the Archives on 19th Ave near Jefferson St.
Internet sites and databases:
- Research at the Archives archival collections, maps, newspapers, Arizona collection, photographs, oral histories, genealogy, Arizona agencies, reproductions, and fees.
- Catalog advanced search by phrase, collections, and unwanted item limiters.
- Arizona biographical database.
- Arizona newspapers.
- Arizona public records personal, court, and business records.
Tax rolls, brands, coroner records, voting registers, prisoners, court marriage licenses, wills, probate cases, civil and criminal cases, Arizona agency records, 32,000 Arizona maps, and 180,000 photographs.
The Arizona Collection is a continuation of the territorial library. It now includes Arizona history, archeology, biographies, local histories, American Indians, city and county budgets, Arizona high school and college yearbooks, newspaper index, microfilms of missions and military outpost papers, Arizona periodicals, and biographical vertical files.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Arizona State Archives, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives—Pacific Region (Riverside), CA. Federal court records and federal agencies in Arizona.
- State Library, Phoenix, has a large book/periodical collection including immigration, vital records, courts, wills, county histories, and Internet sites. The starting place for AZ family history research.
- Bancroft Library, Univ. Calif. Berkeley Early settlers, migration trails, stagecoaches, miners, and histories. They probably have more Arizona historical material than any repository in Arizona.
- Southwest Museum Braun Research Library, Los Angeles, CA. Includes the Monk Library of Arizoniana, California and Arizona history, and records of southwest American Indians.</ref>
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, has many Arizona cemeteries, census, church, court, histories, immigration, land, military, and naturalization records on microfilm.
- Mesa FamilySearch Library, Mesa, 81,000 microfilms including AZ censuses, 40,000 books (many local histories), 129 public computers, and over 90 classes and workshops per month.</ref>
- Arizona State University Library, Archives and Special Collections, Hayden Arizona Pioneer Biographies, Tempe, a good place to look for early Arizona families.</ref>
- Phoenix Public Library, Burton Barr Central Library Their Arizona history collection is a good place for genealogy research.</ref>
- West Valley Genealogical Society, Youngstown, an active society with a good little library. Probably represents outside Arizona better because of retirees who contribute from all around the U.S.</ref>
- Maricopa County Office of Vital Registration births 1950-present; and deaths.
- Maricopa County Superior Court Clerk marriages, criminal, civil, divorces, probate and tax court cases.
- Maricopa County Recorder's Office land and mortgage records 1871-present.
- U.S. District Court civil, criminal, appellate, and bankruptcy cases.
- Maricopa Historical Society, Wickenburg, exhibits and publications.
- Arizona Jewish Historical Society, Phoenix, exhibits and genealogical classes.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Gila, La Paz, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma.
- Arizona Historical Society Tucson Library and Archives has a Mexican and an early Arizona collection, Colorado River topics, manuscripts 1860-present, oral histories, maps, and photos.</ref>
- University of Arizona Library, Special Collections, Tucson, materials on Arizona, Southwest American history, and the U.S./Mexico Borderlands, including rare books, manuscripts, and photographs.</ref>
- Northern Arizona University, Cline Library, Flagstaff, includes Arizona history, Arizona photographs, archives, and oral histories.</ref>
- Pima County Public Library, Joel D. Valdez Main Library, Tucson, the Arizona collection, and the Southern Arizona Genealogical Society collection are housed here.</ref>
- Repositories in surrounding states (or nations): California, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah; in Mexico: Baja California, Sonora, and Mexico.
- California State Archives, Sacramento, has county records of the state, such as court records, prison records, wills, deeds, as well as military records, state census records, and school records.
- Nevada State Library and Archives, Carson City, births, marriages, deaths, censuses, military.
- New Mexico State Records Center and Archives, Santa Fe, government records since 1621, manuscripts, Catholic church records, census, wills, family histories, letters, diaries, maps, photos.
- Utah State Archives, Salt Lake City, newspaper, death, land, court, history, naturalization, military, directories, criminals.
- Archivo General de la Nación, Mexico City, church, civil, census, court, history, military, migration, land.
- ↑ Arizona State Archives Reference Question in Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (accessed 14 January 2015).
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Contact the State Archives and Records Management Center in Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (accessed 14 January 2015).
- ↑ Arizona Collection in Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records (accessed 14 January 2015).
- ↑ William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 15. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.