|Arizona Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
The FamilySearch moderator for Arizona is James Tanner.
- If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
- Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
- Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
- On the family group record show each person's census listings.
- Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.
- 1 Online Resources
- 1.1 Microfilm Images
- 1.2 Indexes: fiche, film, or book
- 1.3 Federal non-population schedules
- 1.4 State, territorial, and colonial censuses
- 1.5 Existing and lost censuses
- 1.6 Why use a census?
- 1.7 More about censuses
- 1.8 Sources and footnotes
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- 1790-1940 United States Online Census, 1790-1940
- 1831-1880 Arizona, Compiled Census Index, 1831-1880, image/index ($)
- 1864 Arizona, Territory Census, 1864 ($)
- 1864-1882 Arizona, Territorial Census Records, 1864-1882 ($)
- For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.
- Late 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s Index ($)
Microfilm Images[edit | edit source]
|1930||1900 and Soundex||1864|
|1920 and Soundex||1880 and Soundex||1860|
|1930||1900 and Soundex|
|1920 and Soundex||1880 and Soundex|
Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Arizona, click here
Federal non-population schedules[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and images[edit | edit source]
|Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Arizona|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries(usually with library card)||Pay|
|Year||Type||Record Search||Heritage Quest||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home|
Microfilm images[edit | edit source]
Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Arizona, click here.
State, territorial, and colonial censuses[edit | edit source]
Arizona took many censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
- 1911 Coconino County
- 1910 Coconino County
- 1908 Coconino County
- 1906 Coconino County
- 1902 Coconino County
- 1894 Coconino County
- 1882 Counties: Apache, Cochise, Gila, Graham, Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Pinal, and Yuma
- 1880 Counties: Apache, and Mohave
- 1876 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Pinal, Yavapai, and Yuma
- 1874 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma
- 1872 Counties: Maricopa, Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma
- 1869 Yavapai County
- 1867 Counties: Mohave, Pima, and Yuma
- 1866 Counties: Mohave, Pah Ute, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma
- 1864 Territorial (population 4,187)
- 1862 Territorial
- 1852 Southern pre-territorial Arizona
- 1831 Counties: Pima, Pinal, Santa Cruz, and part of Sonora, Mexico
- 1801 Southern pre-territorial Arizona
- 1796 Santa Cruz County (Tumacacori)
1864, 1866, 1867, 1869, 1871, 1872, and 1882 Territorial censuses--Territorial censuses are available at the Department of Libraries, Archives and Public Records, although they are not all complete. The Family History Library has indexes for 1864, 1866, 1867, and 1869.
Existing and lost censuses[edit | edit source]
For a list of available and missing Arizona censuses, click here.
Why use a census?[edit | edit source]
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses[edit | edit source]
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
- Arizona Census Records at CensusFinder.com compiled list of links to state and county censuses.
Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]
- Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai ]], 17-18.
- Emily Anne Croom, The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook (Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 1994)[FHL REF Book 929.1 C882g], 39.
- Ancestry.com "Arizona Census, 1831-80" at http://www.ancestryinstitution.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3533 (accessed 15 December 2009).
- Ancestry.com. Arizona Territory Census, 1864 [database on-line] at http://www.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=3121 (accessed 14 December 2009), citing original data: Historical Records Survey, Works Progress Administration. Census of Arizona Territory, April 1864. Phoenix, AZ, USA: n.p., 1938
- Eugene L. Sierras, Mexican Census Pre-Territorial : Pimeria Alta, 1852 (Tucson, Arizona : Arizona State Genealogical Society, 1986)[FHL Book 979.1 X2se 1852]. Pimeria Alta was an area of land in southern pre-territorial Arizona. The census was conducted in 1852 in the district of Altar, Sonora.
- Instituto Genealógico e Histórico Latinoamericano, Index to the 1831 Census of Arizona and Sonora (Highland, Utah: [Instituto], 1983)[FHL Book 979.1 A1 no. 87; Film 697282 Item 7]. The census includes Tucson, Tubac and Santa Cruz, as well as parts of Sonora, Mexico.
- Eugene L. Sierras, and Kieran McCarty, Mexican Census Pre-Territorial : Pimeria Alta, 1801 (Tucson, Arizona : Arizona State Genealogical Society, 1986)[FHL Book 979.1 X2s 1801]. Pimeria Alta was an area of land in southern pre-territorial Arizona.
- Alfred F. Whiting, "The Tumacacori Census of 1796" in the Kiva, 19, no. 1, Fall, 1953. [FHL Film 874325 Item 5].