Arica y Parinacota Region, Chile Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Chile Wiki Topics
Flag of Chile.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Chile Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Chile
Region of Arica y Parinacota

Guide to Region of Arica y Parinacota ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

Region of Arica y Parinacota

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Arica y Parinacota was formed in 2007 from Tarapacá. For genealogy strategies, see Tarapacá, Chile Genealogy.

History

  • In 1541, Villa San Marcos de Arica was founded, the first Spanish village in the region.
  • In 1823, the Province of Arica was created as part of the Department of Arequipa, within the Republic of Peru. The province was incorporated to the Province of Tarapacá in 1837.
  • In the year 1884 as part of the Treaty of Ancon, the Peruvian department of Tarapacá was incorporated into Chile.
  • In 2005 the Region of Arica and Parinacota was created.
  • The Arica and Parinacota Region has an approximate population of 240,000 people. [1]

Provinces

ParinacotaAricaChile Arica y Parinacota Region.png
About this image

Cemetery Records

Online Records

Civil Registration

References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Región de Arica y Parinacota," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regi%C3%B3n_de_Arica_y_Parinacota. Visited 20 July 2017.