Ariège, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ariège)
Jump to: navigation, search
France Research Topics
Flag of France.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
France Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for France is SugdenHG
France
Ariège
Ariège-France.png

Guide to Ariège ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers.

{{{link}}}

History

Ariège is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on 4 March 1790 under the Act of 22 December 1789. It was created from the counties of Foix, and Couserans. Foix is the administrative capital of the Ariège. It is an ancient medieval town with a fortress, Chateau de Foix, perched on a hill overlooking it. The fortress has been attacked many times without being captured. It has also been used as a prison, and the names of English prisoners of war can still be seen on the cell walls. Another famous castle in the Ariège is Montségur. During the Albigensian Crusade and siege in 1244 the castle was largely destroyed, with more than two hundred Cathar priests burnt at the stake as heretics. The castle was gradually rebuilt by Royalists over the next three hundred years.

The start of the seventeenth century saw the area ravaged by the Huguenot rebellions by Protestants against Catholics. The nineteenth century was a time of strong industrial growth, supported in Ariège by an abundant supply of water power. . Changes in forest laws in 1829 resulted in the War of the Maidens, a revolt by peasants who saw their rights to use the forests restricted and who disguised themselves as females while performing acts of rebellion. Wikipedia[1]

Former County of Foix

The County of Foix (French pronunciation: ​[fwa]) was an independent medieval fief in southern France, and later a province of France, whose territory corresponded roughly the eastern part of the modern département of Ariège (the western part of Ariège being Couserans). Wikipedia

Localities (Communes)

Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat civil) Online

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department:
Here is the website for the Department Archives of Ariège, where you will find these records.
Department Archives of Ariège

See Using France Online Department Archives for step by step instructions on finding and reading these records.

Online Census Records

Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.

Online Local Databases and Extracted Records

Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.

Microfilm Records of the FamilySearch Library

The church and civil registration records have all been microfilmed. Currently, they are being digitized, and plans are to complete that project by 2020. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. To find a microfilm: Click on Ariège , find and click on "Places within France, Ariège," and choose your locality from the list.

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.

There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:

These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:

Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.

  • Chapter 1: OLD FRENCH RECORDS
  • Chapter 2: PARISH CHRISTENING AND CIVIL BIRTH ENTRIES
  • Chapter 3: MARRIAGE ENTRIES
  • Chapter 4: OTHER ENTRIES
  • Chapter 5: FRENCH HANDWRITING AND SPELLING ==Search Strategy==
  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.

Genealogical Societies and Help Groups


1, bis avenue Lamartine
31100 TOULOUSE
France
Tél.: 05 34 63 91 06 or 09 53 75 31 09


Websites