Arenac County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Arenac County, Michigan ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Standish
Organized: April 21, 1883
Parent County(s): Bay[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bay  • Gladwin  • Iosco  • Ogemaw
See County Maps
Courthouse
Michigan, Arenac County Building.png
Location Map
Michigan, Arenac County Locator Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for “A sandy place for a good footing." The County is located in the east area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Arenac County Courthouse
120 N Grove Street
PO Box 747
Standish, MI 48658
Phone: 989-846-4626
Arenac County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce and court records from 1883 and burial records from 1952. [3]

Arenac County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1883 1883 1883 1882 1883 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Townships
Historic communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Arenac County, Michigan online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 5,683
1900 9,821 72.8%
1910 9,640 −1.8%
1920 9,460 −1.9%
1930 8,007 −15.4%
1940 9,233 15.3%
1950 9,644 4.5%
1960 9,860 2.2%
1970 11,149 13.1%
1980 14,706 31.9%
1990 14,931 1.5%
2000 17,269 15.7%
2010 15,899 −7.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


  • 1870 Arenac County did not exist in 1870, but was part of Bay County

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

AFRICAN-AMERICAN

Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202-4007
Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 22203
Lansing, MI 48909-2203
Publication is Newsletter published quarterly
Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

CORNISH

Keweenaw Houghton Cornish Society of the Copper Country
Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan
8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing, MI 48433

DUTCH

Joint Archives of Holland, Hope College

FINNISH

Finnish American Heritage Center

FLEMISH

Genealogical Society of Flemish Americans
Facebook Page

FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

French-Canadian Heritage Society of Michigan
PO Box 1900
Royal Oak, MI 48068-1900
Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

IRISH

Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit, MI 48216-1303
Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Wayne County Irish Society
31975 Cowan
Westland, MI 48185

ITALIAN

Americans Of Italian Origin Society
18336 Lister E.
Detroit, MI 48021

JEWISH

Jewish Genealogical Society of Michigan
PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield, MI 48325-1693
Publication is Generations published quarterly
Located in Oakland County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

POLISH

Polish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202-4007
Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year
Located in Wayne County
MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Polish Heritage Society
P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids, MI 49501

SCOTTISH

The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit
2360 Rochester Ct
Troy, Mi 48083
Phone: 248-526-1849
Fax: 248-528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • BOURASSA - (includes Arenac branches, see attachment)
  • LALON(D)E - (see attachment)
  • STANDISH Family Ancestors - (see attachment)

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the Arenac County courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Arenac County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

  • Books available at the Library of Michigan (Lansing) regarding Arenac Co.
  • A History of Northern Michigan and Its People. 3 Volumes. By Perry Francis Powers, Harry Gardner Cutler. 1912. Chicago : Lewis Publishing Co. Online at: Hathitrust; Vol. 2 - Google Books

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ogemaw CountyIosco CountyGladwin CountyBay CountyMI ARENAC.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Online Indexes and Records

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Michigan tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the Wiki page, Michigan Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Birth Records and Death Records from 1867 can be obtained from the Michigan Department of Community Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
  • Marriage Records from 1867 and Divorce Records from 1897 can be obtained from the County Clerk.
  • State vital records started in 1867, however marriage records started at the county level earlier. Check both.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Arenac County Historical Society
    PO Box 272
    304 E. Michigan Ave.
    Au Gres, MI 48703
    517-876-6399
    Website
    Facebook

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Arenac County Historical Society
PO Box 272
304 E. Michigan Ave.
Au Gres, MI 48703
517-876-6399
Facebook
Website

AFRICAN-AMERICAN

Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society
c/o Burton Historical Collection, DPL
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202-4007
Website

Publication is Fred Hart Williams Genealogical Society News published twice a year. Located in Wayne County<. MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

Lansing Area African American Genealogical Society
Post Office Box 22203
Lansing, MI 48909-2203
Website

Publication is Newsletter published quarterly. Member of Michigan Genealogical Council

CORNISH

Houghton Cornish Society of the Copper Country
Cornish Connection Of Lower Michigan
8494 Wesley Drive
Flushing, MI 48433
Website

DUTCH

Joint Archives of Holland, Hope College
Website

FINNISH

Finnish American Heritage Center
Website

FLEMISH

Genealogical Society of Flemish Americans
Facebook Page
Website

FRENCH-CANADIAN (includes Acadian, Cajun and Metis)

French-Canadian Heritage Society of Michigan
PO Box 1900
Royal Oak, MI 48068-1900
Website

Publication is Michigan's Habitat Heritage published quarterly. Located in Oakland County. MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council.Facebook Page

IRISH

Irish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Gaelic League/Irish American Club
2068 Michigan Avenue
Detroit, MI 48216-1303
Website

Publication is Irish Tree published nine times a year. Located in Wayne County. MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Wayne County Irish Society
31975 Cowan
Westland, MI 48185
Website

ITALIAN

Americans Of Italian Origin Society
18336 Lister E.
Detroit, MI 48021
Website

JEWISH

Jewish Genealogical Society of Michigan
PO Box 251693
West Bloomfield, MI 48325-1693
Website

Publication is Generations published quarterly. Located in Oakland County. MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

POLISH

Polish Genealogical Society of Michigan
c/o Burton Collection
5201 Woodward Avenue
Detroit, MI 48202-4007
Website

Publication is The Polish Eaglet published three times a year. Located in Wayne County. MGC Member of Michigan Genealogical Council
Facebook Page

Polish Heritage Society
P.O. Box 1844
Grand Rapids, MI 49501
Website

SCOTTISH

The St. Andrew's Society of Detroit
2360 Rochester Ct
Troy, Mi 48083
248-526-1849
Fax: 248-528-1477
Contact: kilgour@detroitscots.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Arenac County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "wikipedia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Michigan.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, Arenac County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 16 September 2019.