Arborfield, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Arborfield

Guide to Arborfield, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arborfield, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sonning
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham
Registration District Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1705
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

ARBORFIELD (St. Bartholomew), is a parish, in the union of Wokingham, hundred of Sonning,and county of Berkshire, it is 5 miles S. E. from Reading. The village of Arborfield Cross, is about a mile from the church, it is partly in this parish, and partly in that of Hurst. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Arborfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Arborfield Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1759-1897
1580-1837
1580-1925
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1580-1836, 1705-1812
1580-1835, 1707-1812


FS Catalog PRs
1705-1874
1705-1874
1705-1874
FS Catalog BTs
1580-1836
1580-1836
1580-1836

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Arborfield in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 27 March 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk