Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Appomattox County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Appomattox County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||February 8, 1845|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Appomattox County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African American
- 4.2.1 Bible Records
- 4.2.2 Cemeteries
- 4.2.3 Census
- 4.2.4 Church Records
- 4.2.5 Court
- 4.2.6 Funeral Homes
- 4.2.7 Genealogy
- 4.2.8 Historic Residences
- 4.2.9 Land and Property
- 4.2.10 Local Histories
- 4.2.11 Maps
- 4.2.12 Migration
- 4.2.13 Military
- 4.2.14 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.2.15 Naturalization
- 4.2.16 Newspapers
- 4.2.17 Petitions
- 4.2.18 Probate Records
- 4.2.19 Taxation
- 4.2.20 Vital Records
- 5 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Appomattox County is located in the Piedmont region of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after the Appamatuck people who were shown on Captain John Smith's map of 1612. The name eventually evolved into "Appomattox".
Appomattox County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Appomattox County Courthouse
P.O. Box 672
Appomattox, VA 24522-0672
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and probate records from 1892, court and land records 
General compliance year is unknown.
Appomattox County Virginia History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, visit "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
The Appomattox County VAGenWeb page identifies surviving church and vital records.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:\
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Appomattox County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1960):79-80. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg, online at: American Ancestors ($).
African American[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 images, or browse by county
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, or browse by county, incomplete
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans in Appomattox County.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
|Source: "Wikipedia.org". United States Census Bureau.|
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. By Ronald Ray Turner. c1994. Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection. At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009, index and images, incomplete
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surnames
- See Appomattox County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of a few + published books and articles.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Featherston, Nathaniel Ragland. Appomattox County History and Genealogy. Baltimore, MD: Reprinted for Clearfield Co. by Genealogical Pub. Co., 1998. FHL Book 975.5625 H2f; digital version at World Vital Records ($). This book contains numerous genealogies for families of Appomattox County. For a list of surnames please see World Vital Records ($).
- Heritage Book Committee. Appomattox County, Virginia. Summersville, W. Va.: S.E. Grose and the Appomattox Heritage Committee, 2001. FHL Book 975.5625 H2a.
Historic Residences[edit | edit source]
- Clover Hill. Early History of an Old Appomattox Landmark. By Ethel Marion Smith. The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 57, No. 3 (Jul., 1949), pp. 269-273. Online at: JSTOR ($). Includes information about the Patteson family.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Bannister et al. 482 patents dated 1739-1828 in what is now Appomattox County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2010. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Appomattox County History and Genealogy. 1998. By Nathaniel Ragland Featherston. Baltimore, MD : Reprinted for Clearfield Co. by Genealogical Pub. Co., Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5625 H2f; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 W2e v. 1; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 W2e 1983; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 W2e 1990-1992. Includes individuals who migrated out of Appomattox County to other parts of the country.
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Governnment Printing Office, 1883. FHL 973 M2Lp v. 5; online at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Appomattox County, pp. 61-62.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H (Appomattox Rangers)
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Appomattox Grays).
- - 20th Battalion, Virginia Heavy Artillery (Confederate). Company C.
- - 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Appomattox Invincibles).
- - 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Liberty Guards).
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 Ancestry ($)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 Ancestry
- Hopkins, Luther W. From Bull Run to Appomattox: A Boy's View. Baltimore: Press of Fleet-McGinley Co., 1914. FHL Fiche 6082797 (2 copies); online at: Ancestry ($).
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following battles were fought in Appomattox County.
- April 8, 1865 - Appomattox Station 
- April 9, 1865 - Appomattox Court House 
- Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
- 1607-2007 - Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Petitions[edit | edit source]
- A Calendar of Legislative Petitions Arranged by Counties Accomac - Bedford (Virginia State Library). By H.J. Eckenrode. 1908. Richmond, Virginia : Davis Bottom, Superintendent of Public Printing. Online at: Google Books.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
|Online Appomattox County, Virginia Tax Lists|
- 1764-1792 - Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia , Vol. 1, 1764-1792. c2017. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. n.p. : Crouse. Available at: Randy McNew Crouse's Books on Virginia ($), FHL; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Appomattox County was created in 1845, in part, from that portion of Buckingham County that lays south of the Appomattox River. Buckingham residents living there then, and following the division of the county, became residents of Appomattox County. Crouse's book is a comprehensive transcription of all extant tithe and personal property tax lists (over 12,000 records) for Buckingham County, Virginia from its formation in 1761 through 1792. Includes 1764, 1773-4, 1782-1792. All proprietors are named (male or female) along with many additional white males over the age of 16, number of white tithes, number of slave tithes, names of slaves over the age of 12 (until 1783), carriages, ordinary licences, horses, cattle (1783-1788) and acres of land (1764). Comments and annotations are included, as found in the original lists, describe familial relationships, marital status (widow), physical characteristics, race, occupation, nationality, religion, place of residence and more.Transcribed records are ordered as they appear in the tax lists and, in addition, are ordered alphabetically in a 160 page index section. Includes an introduction and guide to use, a table and graphs to summarize statistics, extensive bibliography, table of alternate surname spellings, list of abbreviations and appendices.
- 1792-1802 - Personal Property Tax Lists of Buckingham County Virginia , Vol. 2, 1792-1802. c2017. By Randy F. McNew Crouse. n.p. : Crouse. Available at: Randy McNew Crouse's Books on Virginia ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Crouse's second volume includes the monumental tax list transcription effort. Comprehensive transcription of all personal property tax lists (over 13,700 records enumerating over 47,000 tithes) for Buckingham County, Virginia from 1792-1802. All proprietors are named (male or female) along with many additional white males over the age of 16, number of white tithes, number of slave tithes, carriages, ordinary licences and horses. 130 page index. An illustrated appendix on Riding Carriages is a very interesting added feature.
- 1845 - Appomattox County, Virginia Tax Lists, 1845 Only Extant Record for the First Year the County was Established, Includes Land Tax Rolls, Personal Property Tax Rolls. 1975. By Harriett A. Chilton. Falls Church, Virginia : H.A. Chilton. FHL; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Appomattox County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages - FindMyPast ($)
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 Ancestry ($)
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1936-1988 - Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1918-1988 - Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-1988
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Appomattox Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Appomattox County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Appomattox County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Appomattox County, Virginia. Page 710 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Appomattox County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "Appomattox County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appomattox_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
- Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- Burned Record Counties (VA-NOTES). (n.d.). Library of Virginia. Retrieved October 1, 2009, from http://www.lva.virginia.gov/public/guides/va22_burnedco.htm.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Appomattox _ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Appomattox_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 7 November 2019.
- James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
- Tracy Chernault and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 18th and 20th Battalions of Heavy Artillery (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 113.
- Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
- Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
- Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)
- Heritage Preservation Services,Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012)