To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Appleford, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Appleford, Berkshire)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Appleford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Appleford, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ock
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; For more records see Sutton Courtenay
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

APPLEFORD, is a chapelry, in the parish of Sutton Courtney, union of Abingdon, hundred of Ock, and county of Berkshire, it is 3½ miles S. E. from Abingdon. Here is a station of the Oxford branch of the Great Western railway. The chapel is dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Appleford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Berkshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = England & Wales Christenings and Marriages (Ancestry) - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Appleford Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1563-1916
1755-1837
1564-1965
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1530-1980
1538-1988


IGI 1563-1812, 1612-1835
1567-1837, 1611-1835


FS Catalog PRs
1749-1837
1749-1837
1749-1837
FS Catalog BTs
1610-1835
1610-1835
1610-1835

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Appleford Chapelry in the parish of Sutton Courtney in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 66-69 Accessed. 25 Mar 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch