To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Apethorpe with Woodnewton, Northamptonshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willybrook
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Oundle
Registration District Oundle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1676; Separate registers exist for Woodnewton beginning 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605; Separate records exist for Woodnewton beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oundle
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Nassington; Post-1850 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

APETHORPE (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Oundle, hundred of Willybrook, N. division of the county of Northampton, 4¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Wansford.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Apethorpe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC 1 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1532-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = Northamptonshire, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Northamptonshire Marriages and Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Apethorpe Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1532-1812
1532-1812
1532-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1912
1813-1912
FMP

1538-1921
1525-2006
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1561-2001
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


Woodnewton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Woodnewton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1 1532-1812
1532-1812
1532-1812
ANC 2 1813-1912
1754-1912
1813-1912
FMP

1538-1921
1525-2006
JOIN

1538-1837


NBI



1561-2001
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 27 February 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk