To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Apalachicola Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Alabama Gotoarrow.png Florida Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Indians of Alabama Gotoarrow.png Indians of Florida Gotoarrow.png Indians of Georgia Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Apalachicola Indians

Guide to Apalachicola Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

1600's: Apalachicola form an alliance with the Spanish settlers

1706-1707: The tribe attacked by British and allied tribes

1715-1716: Yamasee War, the Indians fought against the Carolina traders

1830's: Most of the Tribe move (from Florida)with the Creek to Oklahoma and some settle with the Seminole

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Apalachicola tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods.

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Census[edit | edit source]

1833 Censusof several towns of Apalachicola[1]

Claims[edit | edit source]

1839 List of Claims made by the Apalachicola Indians at Fort Gibson

Removal (Migration) Records[edit | edit source]

1838 Muster Rollof Blunts Tribe of Apalachicola (32 individuals)

1838 Muster Rollof Walker's Town of Apalachicola (126 individuals)

1838 Muster Rollof Econchatta Micco's Town of Apalachicola (81 individuals)

1838 Muster Rollof Apalachicola received from Lieut. Berrian at Dog Island (28 individuals)

Treaties[edit | edit source]

1832 Treaty with the Apalachicola

1833 Treaty with the Apalachicola

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

See For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774 - 1875. United States Serial Set, Senate Doc. 512, Number 247, p. 674-689