Apache County, Arizona Genealogy
Guide to Apache County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Apache County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||December 21, 1864|
|County Seat||St. Johns|
|Address||PO Box 667|
70 West 3rd South
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Apache County, Arizona Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Apache County Courthouse
Clerk of The Court Apache County
P.O. Box 365
St. Johns, Arizona 85936
Phone: (928) 337-4364
Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce probate and court records from 1879
County Recorder has land records from 1879 
History[edit | edit source]
14 Feb 1879 - Apache County was created from Yavapai. County Seat: St. Johns, Arizona Area is 11,218 square miles (29,054.5 sq. km.)
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1846 - 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded part of present day Arizona, including all of present day Apache County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 13 Dec 1850 - The US created the New Mexico Territory from unorganized federal land. This territory named after the Mexican State of New Mexico. Some counties were created, but they were small and covered land only in present day New Mexico. The land in the present day Arizona was at that time non-county land. Also the land south of the Gila River still belonged to Mexico. Look for records in the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- In 1852 - New Mexico Territory created counties that stretched east and west from the Texas border to the California border, including all the land that later became Arizona. The land covered by present-day Apache County, Arizona was once part of Taos, San Juan (1861-1862 only), Rio Arriba, Santa Ana, Bernalillo, Valencia, and Socorro counties of New Mexico.  Look for records in Socorro, Bernalillo, Rio Arriba, Taos, and Valencia counties.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Apache people. The County has St. Johns as its seat and the County was created February 24, 1879. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 21 Mar 1895 - Arizona created Navajo County from the west half of Apache County. This county named for the Navajo Indians. Look for records in Apache and Navajo counties.
Also see Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
- Graham County, Arizona
- Greenlee County, Arizona
- Navajo County, Arizona
- Montezuma County, Colorado
- Catron County, New Mexico
- Cibola County, New Mexico
- McKinley County, New Mexico
- San Juan County, New Mexico
- San Juan County, Utah
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Apache County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Arizona cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Apache County, Arizona Genealogy census records online, see: Arizona Census.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Alpine, Amity, Cooley, Eagar, Greer, Nutrioso, Omer, St. Johns, Union and Vernon.
Court[edit | edit source]
The general trial courts in Arizona are the county Superior Courts. The contact information for the Superior Court is as follows:
Apache County Superior Court
PO Box 667
70 West 3rd South
St. Johns, Az 85936-0667
Phone: (928) 337-7555
Fax: (928) 337-7586
There is also an Apache County Superior Court Website. The Superior Court handles all cases including general civil litigation, probate, conservatorships, guardianships, juvenile cases, divorces and criminal.
The Family History Library has an Index to District Court papers, Apache County, Arizona [1881-1916] Vault US/CAN Film Number FHL 2310860
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Land records from 1986 to the present are searchable online at the Apache County Recorder's Office.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Apache County, Arizona Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Arizona Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Arizona Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Apache County, Arizona Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1959-2014 - Arizona, Mesa LDS Family History Center, Obituary Index, 1959-2014 at FamilySearch — index
Probate[edit | edit source]
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Subjects Search for Arizona, Apache - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1964 - Arizona, County Marriages, 1871–1964 at FamilySearch.org — index and browse images, incomplete
- 1909-1917 - Arizona Select Births and Christenings 1909-1917 at Ancestry.com — index $
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1879-1930 - 1,728 marriages from 22 May 1879 to 16 Nov 1930 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1910-1911 and 1933-1994 - Arizona Select Deaths and Burials 1910-1911 and 1933-1994;at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Apache County Historical Society
180 W. Cleveland
St. Johns, AZ 85936
Hours 9-5 M-F
White Mountain Historical Society
504 East Mohave St.
Springerville, AZ 85938
Hours 11-2 Thurs.-Sat., June-Aug.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.Introduction to Family History Centers
Chinle, Apache, Arizona, United States
467 N Butler
Eagar, Apache, Arizona, United States
St Johns Arizona
50 North 1st West
St Johns, Apache, Arizona, United States
366A Hwy 264
Saint Michaels, Arizona, United States
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Apache County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Apache County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Apache County, Arizona. Page 56-57 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 52.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Apache County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Williams 108-110
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- U.S. Stat., vol. 9, ch. 49/pp. 446-452; Baldwin, 117-137; Van Zandt, 28-29, 162-165
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- WorldCat 50140092 FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1879, 10th assy./ pp. 96-97
- Wikipedia contributors, "Apache, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apache_County,_Arizona 7/10/2017.
- Ariz. Terr. Laws 1895, 18th assy./ pp. 96-105
- Wikipedia contributors, "Apache County, Arizona," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apache_County,_Arizona, accessed 17 February 2019.