Antrobus, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Antrobus, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Runcorn|
|Parish registers: 1809|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1811|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ANTROBUS, is a township, in the parish of Great Budworth, union of Runcorn, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 5 miles NNW from Northwich.
Antrobus St Mark is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1848 from Great Budworth, Cheshire Genealogy Ancient Parish. Built in 1848 as the parish church for Antrobus and Seven Oaks.
Antrobus is a civil parish and village in Cheshire, England, immediately to the south of Warrington. It is situated within the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Antrobus St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Antrobus St Mark Parish (1848) Online Records|
||1849-1937 Record Collection 1614792 1849-1937
|FS BT'S||NONE|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of Antrobus parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
|Baptisms, 1848-1920. Marriages, 1848-1983. Burials, 1849-1974.
||2197434 Items 6 - 8|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1600s-1910 Cheshire Non-Conformist & Roman Catholic Registers (Baptism) 17th Century-1910 at FindMyPast ($); index and images (dates may vary by parish)
- 1671-1900 England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
- Antrobus Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (rebuilt in 1935)
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Runcorn (1837–1974)
- Vale Royal (1974–98)
- Cheshire Central (1998–2009)
- Cheshire West (post 2009)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Antrobus on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.