To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Antrim Parish, Halifax County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Antrim Parish, Halifax County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Antrim Parish has served Halifax County, Virginia. Mount Laurel Church belonged to Antrim Parish.[1]

Rev. Charles A. Dresser, formerly Rector of Antrim Parish, is the minister who married Abraham Lincoln and Mary Todd out in Illinois in 1842.[2]

Founded[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Meade's 1861 history of Antrim Parish is available online.[4]

Antrim Parish reports:[5]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Vestry Books[edit | edit source]

Antrim Parish's vestry book (1751-1817) is kept at the Virginia Theological Seminary. Copies: Library of Virginia and FHL Film 30163. The records have been abstracted:

  • Chiarito, Marian Dodson. Vestry Book of Antrim Parish, Halifax County, Virginia, 1752-1817. Nathalie, Va.: Clarkton Press, 1983. FHL Book 975.5661 K2c

Select abstracts were also published in the early twentieth century:

  • Carrington, Wirt Johnson. "Extracts From First Vestry Book of Antrim Parish," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan., 1927), pp. 61-63. FHL Book 973 H25w; digital version at JSTOR ($).

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836), 325. Digital version at Google Books.
  2. Minister Who Married Lincoln, The Historical Marker Database
  3. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  4. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  5. Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.