To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Antofagasta de la Sierra, Catamarca, Argentina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Department of Antofagasta de la Sierra ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • The Incas occupied the area in 1470 and 1536, dominating the Atacameño natives and taking their gold, copper and lead mines. They were succeeded by the Spaniards who also exploited the mines.
  • Pursuant to the treaty with Bolivia of May 10, 1889, Argentina renounced its claim to Tarija and part of the Chaco Boreal, and Bolivia in return gave it the Puna de Atacama, which was held by Chile after the Pacific War.
  • As a result of which Chile refused to deliver the territories ceded by Bolivia, it was decided to submit the matter to the arbitration of the American diplomat William Insco Buchanan, who in 1899 granted Argentina 75% of the territory in dispute and the rest to Chile.
  • In 1900 the territory of the Andes was divided into three administrative departments, the southern one being "Antofagasta de la Sierra", whose head was the town of Antofagasta de la Sierra.
  • After the incorporation of San Antonio de Los Cobres, the decree of May 19, 1904, indicated the limits of the four departments.
  • The department of Antofagasta de la Sierra has a population of approximately 1,500 people. [1]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for the department of Antofagasta de la Sierra.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for the department of Antofagasta de la Sierra.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

  • Antofagasta de la Sierra

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento Antofagasta de la Sierra," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_Antofagasta_de_la_Sierra. Visited October 23, 2017.