Antofagasta, Antofagasta, Chile Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Chile
Antofagasta Province
Commune of Antofagasta

Guide to Commune of Antofagasta ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History

  • The city of Antofagasta was founded by the Bolivian government in 1868.
  • In 1879, as part of the War of the Pacific, Chilean military forces occupied the Bolivian port of Antofagasta to prevent the auctioning of the mining properties of Chilean capital. The peace treaty of 1874 was annulled and the Pacific War began.
  • With the treaty of 1904 Antofagasta was Chilean. Many Chileans grew, especially from the provinces of Norte Chico. Immigrants arrived from Europe too.
  • The commune of Antofagasta has a population of approximately 381,000 people.[1]


Civil Registration

Catalog English.jpg


Parish Records


Cemeteries

  • General Cemetery of Antofagasta
    Address: Av. Andrés Sabella Gálvez 3250

Localities

  • Aguas Blancas
  • Arturo Prat
  • Barrio Industrial
  • Coloso
  • Comercio
  • Estadio Regional
  • Huamachuco
  • Huanchaca
  • Irarrázaval
  • La Chimba
  • Mantos Blancos
  • Miramar
  • Oscar Bonilla
  • Pedro Aguirre Cerda
  • Portales
  • Residencial
  • Salar del Carmen
  • Salar Punta Negra

References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Antofagasta," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antofagasta . Visited 14 November 2017.