Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Guatemala
Sacatepéquez Department
Municipality of Antigua Guatemala

Guide to Municipality of Antigua Guatemala ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History

  • It was known in colonial times as "Santiago de los Caballeros de Guatemala" and was the capital of the General Captaincy of Guatemala.
  • In 1776 the capital was moved to the city of Nueva Guatemala de la Asunción as a result of which the Santa Marta earthquakes had ruined the city for the third time in the same century.
  • With the transfer the city adopted the names of "ruined Guatemala", "Santiago of old Guatemala" and the "old city". He was abandoned by all the royal and municipal authorities.
  • After becoming independent in Central America in 1821, he regained the status of city and was designated head of the department of Sacatepéquez.
  • The municipality of Antigua Guatemala has a population of approximately 44,000 people[1]

Civil Registration

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records

Census Records

Cemeteries

  • Cementerio General de Antigua Guatemala
  • Cementerio San Lázaro

Localities

  • Huertas
  • Los Encuentros
  • San Bartolomé Becerra
  • San Cristobal
  • San Cristobal El Alto
  • San Cristobal El Bajo
  • San Felipe
  • San Felipe De Jesus
  • San Gaspar
  • San Juan Del Obispo
  • San Juan Gascon
  • San Mateo Milpas Altas
  • San Pedro
  • San Pedro Huertas
  • Santa Ana
  • Santa Ana Milpas Altas
  • Santa Catarina Bobadilla
  • Santa Inés
  • Santa Inés Del Monte Pulciano
  • Santa Ines Hortelanos
  • Santa Isabel
  • Tesoro

References

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Antigua Guatemala," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antigua_Guatemala. Visited 8 September 2017.