Ansty, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Foleshill|
|Parish registers: 1589|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Ansty St James is an Ancient Parish on the outskirts of Coventry. The church was built in the 13th century and was rebuilt in 1856 by Sir George Gilbert Scott. The parish was part of the County of the City of Coventry until that county was dissolved in 1842
Anstey, is a parish in Foleshill district, Warwickshire; it is on the Oxford canal, near the river Sow, 2 miles SW of Bulkington railway station, and 5 miles NE of Coventry. The post office is under Coventry.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ansty, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Ansty, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishops Transcripts deposited at The Lichfield Record Office: Bap 1662-1862 Marr 1662-1862 Bur 1662-1862, missing all events 1845-1861
- 1535 - 1984 - England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1984 at FamilySearch — index and images
FamilySearch Historical records have an index of Warwickshire Parish registers
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October, 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.