Anstey, Leicestershire Genealogy
Guide to Anstey, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barrow upon Soar|
|Registration District||Barrow upon Soar|
|Parish registers: 1556; For more records see Thurcaston|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1633|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Groby|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ANSTEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Barrow-upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3¾ miles (N. W.) from Leicester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Anstey, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|ANSTEY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
Diocese of Leicester: Anstey Bap 1571 - 1976 Marr 1556 - 1992 (Banns to1986) Bur 1557 - 1967
Non Conformist records available at the Leicester and Rutland Office include:
Anstey Methodist (Bradgate Road) Baptisms 1898-1941 reference N/M/179/421
Anstey Methodist Marriages 1911-1970 Reference N/M/207/316-321
Anstey Wesleyan Methodist Births, Baptisms 1810-1837
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.