To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Anson County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Anson County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Wadesboro
Organized: 17 March 1749
Parent County(s): Bladen[1]
Neighboring Counties
Chesterfield (SC)  • Marlboro (SC)  • Montgomery  • Richmond  • Stanly  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaAnsonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-anson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Anson County is located in the Southern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for George Anson, 1st Baron Anson, a British Admiral, who circumnavigated the globe from 1740 to 1744, and later became First Lord of the Admiralty[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Anson County Courthouse
N Green Street P O Box 352
Wadesboro, NC 28170
Phone: 704-994-3201
Anson County Website

Death & Register of Deeds has birth records from 1913
marriage records from 1869 and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce from 1868
Probate records from 1750 & court records from 1770[3]

Anson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1869 1921 1770 1749 1750 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1868--A courthouse fire destroyed many records.

Retired North Carolina State Archivist Thornton Mitchell's article can help you discover your Anson County ancestors despite record loss:

  • Mitchell, Thornton W. "Problems of Anson County Records," The North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 15, No. 2 (May 1989):66-68. FHL Book 975.6 B2s v. 15 (1989).

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1749--Anson County was created 17 March 1749 from Bladen County.
  • County seat: Wadesboro[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Anson County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county was formed in 1749 from Bladen County. It was named for George Anson, Baron Anson, a British admiral, who circumnavigated the globe from 1740 to 1744, and later became First Lord of the Admiralty. Like its parent county, Anson County was originally a vast territory with indefinite northern and western boundaries. Reductions in its extent began in 1753, when the northern part of it became Rowan County. In 1762 the western part of Anson County became Mecklenburg County. In 1779 the northern part of what remained of Anson County became Montgomery County, and the part east of the Pee Dee River became Richmond County. Finally, in 1842 the western part of Anson County was combined with the southeastern part of Mecklenburg County to become Union County.
Anson County was named in honor of British Admiral Lord George Anson, a First Lord of the Admiralty. He commanded the vessel which brought Princess Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz Germany, to her future husband King George III. Germans to the area around Anson County, as did many settlers from the British Isles, Africa, and Moravia. In 1750 Anson County was formed from Bladen County. At that time, it reached all the way to the Mississippi River. Although it has been cut in physical size five times since then, the people of that county have enabled its presence to reach beyond the Mississippi to the far corners of the world.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Anson County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Beaverdam. Constituted 1790.[6]
  • Cartledge Creek aka Dockery's Meeting House, near Rockingham, N.C. Organized about 1774.[7] Currently located in Richmond.
  • Fork of Little River. Church built 1758.[6] Later located in Montgomery.
  • Hitchcock. Constituted 1772.[6] Edwards published a membership list dated 1772 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 128. Later located in Richmond.
  • Pee Dee River. Constituted 1785.[6]
  • Rocky River, Burnsville, N.C. Began before 1772.[8]

Church of England

  • St. George's Parish. Established 1749.[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Anson County Heritage, North Carolina, 1995. Wadesboro, N.C.: Don Mills & Anson County Heritage Book Committee, 1995. FHL Book 975.6753 H2ac.

Bibliography

  • Burns Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
  • Curlee Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
  • Gulledge Wiggins, Marie Gulledge. "Anson County, North Carolina Marriages," "Anson County, North Carolina Records," and "Anson County, North Carolina Court Records," Marie G. Wiggins Genealogical Collection Including Variant Surnames. MSS. Microfilmed 1993: FHL Film 1750753 Items 3-5.
  • Hardin Craig, Marion Stark. Benjamin Hardin (IV): 1764-1848 (Revolutionary War Soldier and Pensioner) and Wife, Elizabeth Scott and Their Family Connections: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 H219c.
  • Helms Myers, Sara M. and Sallie C. Pressley. George Helms and Tilman Helms, 1720-1900: History & Genealogy of the Helms Family, Pioneers of Anson & Meck. Counties, North Carolina, Five Generations. Cassopolis, Mich.: S.M. Myers, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 H369m.
  • Huntley Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of the Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: n.p., 1942. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1942.
  • Jarman German, John L. "Finding the Father of David German of North Carolina and Shelby County, Indiana," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):87-94.
  • McLendon Redfearn, Rosalind McLendon. The McLendons of Anson County. Wadesboro, N.C.: n.p., 1957. FHL Film 496748 Item 1.
  • Moore Austin, Nancy Jane Moore and Mary Lois Moore Yandle. The Moore Families of Anson and Union Counties, North Carolina: 1750-1986. Charlotte, N.C.: N.J.M. Austin, c1988. FHL Fiche 6087508 (5 fiche).
  • Parker Kelman, Helen Parker. Parkers of Anson Co., N.C. with the Burnses and Curlees. Raleigh, N.C.: H.P. Kelman, c1993, 2001. FHL Collection.
  • Preslar Dunn, Edwin C. Some Genealogical Notes on the Preslar/Presley Family of Anson Co., N.C. Albuquerque, N.M.: E.C. Dunn, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 P926d.
  • Presley Dunn, Edwin C. Some Genealogical Notes on the Preslar/Presley Family of Anson Co., N.C. Albuquerque, N.M.: E.C. Dunn, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 P926d.
  • Redfearn Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: n.p., 1942. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1942.
  • Redfearn Redfearn, Daniel Huntley. History of the Redfearn Family. Miami, Fla.: Redfearn, 1954. FHL Book 929.273 R247 1954.
  • Redfearn Redfern, Michael Robert. The History of the Redfearn Family Revisited. Louisville, Colo.: M.R. Redfern, c2005. FHL Book 929.273 R247rm.
  • Reed Craig, Marion Stark. Benjamin Hardin (IV): 1764-1848 (Revolutionary War Soldier and Pensioner) and Wife, Elizabeth Scott and Their Family Connections: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 H219c.
  • Reed Craig, Marion Stark. Joseph Reed (Died 1751) of Anson County, NC & Wife, Elizabeth, Who Married James Deacon and Lived in Rowan County, NC: A Genealogical Compilation. Little Rock, Ark.: M.S. Craig, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 R251cm.
  • Sheppard Sheppard, Thomas C. The Sheppard Family: Descendants of William Sheppard of Anson County, North Carolina. Fairmont, W.Va.: T.C. Sheppard, 1992. FHL Film 1750808 Item 6; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • Taylor Taylor, James L. Stephen Taylor and Descendants, Johnston and Anson Counties, North Carolina and Westward 1750's-1996. Typescript. Microfilmed 2001: FHL Film 1440365 Item 14; digital version at Family History Archives.
  • Wall Thomas, Anne Wall. The Walls of Walltown: The Known Descendants of James Wall of Anson County, North Carolina. Carrboro, N.C.: A.W. Thomas, c1969. Digital version at Family History Archive.
  • Wiggins Wiggins, Marie Gulledge. "Individuals found in Anson co., N.C. deeds," in Wiggins Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1990: FHL Film 1597761 Items 1-2.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Anson County land and deed records may be obtained through the local Register of Deeds or through the North Carolina State Archives for older records. Contact the Registry's office at the below address, and also click onto the link to get further details about the office:

Anson County Register of Deeds
101 S. Greene Street, Suite 131
Wadesboro, NC 28170
704-994-3208

There are a number of transcribed Deed Records at the following:

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncanson.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Anson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Anson County:

- 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company C
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company I
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company I
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company A
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Copies of Wills are available through the County Clerk of the Court or through the North Carolina State Archives.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Anson County was formed from Bladen County around 1749. The first courthouse was located on the north bank of the Pee Dee River in an area called Mount Pleasant. In 1782, it was decided that the location of the courthouse was unsatisfactory, and a commission was formed to select a more appropriate site. The commission established the county seat in New Town, the first chartered town in Anson County.
  • The name of the town was later changed from New Town to Wadesboro. We are currently in our sixth courthouse. Through all the years, the moves and the fires, we have managed to keep all our deed records. The first deed recorded in the first book is dated March 25, 1749. Our marriage records, sadly, are a different story. Except for a few marriage bonds and a list of marriages gleaned from other sources, our early marriage records did not survive the courthouse fire of 1868. Our current marriage records start after this date. North Carolina did not require counties to maintain copies of birth and death records until late 1913, so our records for births and deaths date from October 1913 forward. Wills are kept in the office of the Clerk of Court.
  • The Anson County Register of Deeds office is located at 101 S. Greene St., Suite 131, Wadesboro, NC. Our office hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. We observe legal holidays at the direction of the Board of County Commissioners. Two hour parking is available on the street. We are a small but very busy office ,and our work space is limited. We often have attorneys, paralegals, real estate agents, appraisers, genealogists, etc. using the office at the same time. We ask that each person be considerate of others working and doing research in the office, and help us provide an atmosphere in which we can all work. If you have any questions, call us at 704-994-3208. We look foward to seeing you in Anson County.
  • Anson County Registry of Deeds

Birth[edit | edit source]


Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Anson County Historical Society
    206 East Wade Street
    Wadesboro, NC 28170-2229
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anson_County,_North_Carolina
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:225-226, 561. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. "Cartledge Creek Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  8. "Rocky River Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  9. Donna Sherron, "North Carolina Parishes," accessed 12 October 2012. Digital version at Lost Souls Genealogy
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.




To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.