Anne Arundel County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Anne Arundel County

Guide to Anne Arundel County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Annapolis
Organized: April 9, 1650
Parent County(s): Original[1]
Variant Spellings: Ann Arundel, Ann Arundell, Anne Arundell
Neighboring Counties
Baltimore (Independent City)  • Baltimore  • Calvert  • Howard  • Kent  • Prince George's  • Queen Anne's  • Talbot
See County Maps
Courthouse
Anne Arundel County Courthouse Annapolis, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Anne Arundel map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Anne Arundell. The County has Annapolis as its seat and the County was created April 9, 1650. The County is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse

Anne Arundel County Courthouse
7 Church Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410-222-7000
Anne Arundel County Website

Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage records from 1905, divorce and court records from 1870, and land records from 1851.
Register of Wills has probate records.
Hall of Records has marriage records 1770-1904 and earlier court and land records.[3]

Anne Arundel County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1791 1898 1791 1791 1777 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

1704-- The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1704, with the loss of all but three court record volumes. Deeds before 1699 were lost, but there are five volumes of re-recorded deeds.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1650-- Anne Arundel County was created April 9, 1650 out of Colonial lands. It was one of the original counties.
  • County seat: Annapolis[5]
  • May 13, 1851 Howard County was created out of the Howard District of Anne Arundel County.

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Anne Arundel County, Maryland:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Anne Arundel County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Anne Arundel County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 22,598
1800 22,623 0.1%
1810 26,668 17.9%
1820 27,165 1.9%
1830 28,295 4.2%
1840 29,532 4.4%
1850 32,393 9.7%
1860 23,900 −26.2%
1870 24,457 2.3%
1880 28,526 16.6%
1890 34,094 19.5%
1900 39,620 16.2%
1910 39,553 −0.2%
1920 43,408 9.7%
1930 55,167 27.1%
1940 68,375 23.9%
1950 117,392 71.7%
1960 206,634 76.0%
1970 297,539 44.0%
1980 370,775 24.6%
1990 427,239 15.2%
2000 489,656 14.6%
2010 537,656 9.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Provincial Census of 1776, Anne Arundel County: Including All Hallow's Parish and St. James' Parish (25 pages of facsimile reproductions), is available online, see pages 407-431 and index in:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books.

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Church of England

Quaker

  • 1658-1695 "Early Maryland Quaker Records," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jun. 1908):197-200. For free online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p. Principally a record of births.

Court Records

There is an excellent card index to Anne Arundel County court papers (1600s-1700s) at the Maryland State Archives. Genealogists will find that many English transported convicts make their initial American appearance in these records.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Annapolis has been a port since colonial times. Unfortunately, no official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Anne Arundel County immigration resources include:

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Russell, Donna Valley. First Families of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, 1649-1658, Volume I: The Landowners; Volume II: The Headrights. New Market, Md.: Catoctin Press, 1999-2002. FHL Books 975.255 D3r v. 1-v. 2.
  • Warfield, J.D. The Founders of Anne Arundell and Howard Counties, Maryland: A Genealogical and Biographical Review from Wills, Deeds and Church Records. Baltimore: Kohn & Pollock, 1905. FHL Collection 1036676 Item 3; digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 975.2 D3wj 1967.
  • [Beaven] Donnelly, Mary Louise. Beaven-Blanford, Clarkson-Mitchell Families of Maryland, Kentucky, U.S.A. Ennis, Texas: M.L. Donnelly, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 B386d.
  • [Belt] Belt, Walter E., Richard N. Belt, Beverly Redman Reeves Watts, and Evelyne J. Keith. About 900 Descendants of Humphrey Belt: Born About 1615 Probably in Scotland, Died 1696 in Maryland, USA, Sailed from Gravesend, England, on the Ship America, Landed at Jamestown, Virginia on 23 July 1635. He is Generally Accepted as the Progenitor of All Present-day Belts in the United States. Flatonia, Texas: W.E. Belt, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 B419bwe; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • [Benson] Roberts, Barbara Alves Cheney. Thomas Benson (Died 1795 in Maryland) and Family. [Baton Rouge, La.]: B.C. Roberts, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 6407.
  • [Chambers] Chambers, Roger David. The Phillip Chambers Family: A Southern Tradition. [La Maddalena, Italy]: R.D. Chambers, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C355cr.
  • [Chaney] Smith, June A. "Chaney, Anne Arundel Co., Md.," in Linthicum Family Genealogical Data, ca.1649-ca.1950. Microfilmed 1987. FHL Film 1320607 Item 8.
  • [Cheney] Orrell, Reverdy Lewin. Descendants of Richard Cheney of Anne Arundel County, Maryland. Catonsville, Md.: R.L. Orrell, III, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 C362o, Arc CD no. 152.
  • [Chew] Chew, Dorothy Clendenin and Mahlon Hopkinson Chew. John Chewe: Some Descendants in Virginia, Maryland and Ohio. Dalton, Ga.: D. C. & M. H. Chew, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 3396.
  • [Chew] Loeser, Rudolf. "Larkin Chew of Spotsylvania County and His Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2003):3-27; Vol. 47, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2003):107-134. Digital version at American Ancestors (members only-$); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 47.
  • [Childs] O'Brien, Mildred Bowen. Childs. Sunderland, Md.: Calvert Co. Genealogy Newsletter, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C437o.
  • [Choate] Lawrence, William P. The Choates of Southern Illinois and Related Families. 2 vols. Frankfort, Ill.: W.R. Lawrence, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C451L v. 1.
  • [Clary] Rowland, Ralph Shearer and Star Wilson Rowland. Clary Genealogy - Four Early American Lines and Related Families. Fairfax, Va.: Rowland, 1980. FHL Book 929.273 C563r.
  • [Cowman] Garlick, Bernard M. Notes on the Descendants of Joseph Cowman "of London" and Anne Arundel County, Maryland: Together with Relationships to Snowden, Thomas and Hopkins Families. 1992. FHL Book 929.273 C839g.
  • [Darby] Darby, Rodney H. All About Darbys. Rockville, Md.: R.H. Darby, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 D242dr.
  • [Darcy] Dorsey, Donavon D. and Dorsey Family Project. The Dorsey Project. 2 vols. Benton City, Wash.: D.D. Dorsey, 1994-1995. FHL Book 929.27305 D728.
  • [Dicas] Dicus, Doris J. Discus--Wolfe and Allied Families. Typescript, Sullivan County Library, Sullivan, Ind. FHL Film 1403675 Item 10.
  • [Dillingham] Nichols, Larry O. Dillingham Family of the South: A History & Genealogical Study. Lauderhill, Fla.: L.O. Nichols, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 D584n.
  • [Disney] Foresman, Sherry. Disney Family History. [Des Moines, Iowa]: S. Foresman, 1979. FHL Film 1307506 Item 40.
  • [Disney] Foresman, Sherry. Disney Family. Des Moines, Iowa: S. Foresman, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 D632f.
  • [Dorsey] See also Darcy.
  • [Dorsey] Dorsey, Donavon D. and Dorsey Family Project. The Dorsey Project. 2 vols. Benton City, Wash.: D.D. Dorsey, 1994-1995. FHL Book 929.27305 D728.
  • [Dorsey] Dorsey, Maxwell J., Jean Muir Dorsey and Nannie Ball Nimmo. The Dorsey Family, Descendants of Edward Darcy-Dorsey of Virginia and Maryland For Five Generations and Allied Families. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 D738d.
  • [Dowell] Beeler, Flora Maye Dowell and Janette Beeler Bishop. A Dowell Family History. Gallatin, Mo.: J.B. Bishop, 1972. FHL Film 1571137 Item 15.
  • [Duvall] Barkman, Joanna E. Duvall et al. The Descendants of Dr. Jeremiah DuVall and His Wife, Sarah Penn. Goshen, Ind.: J.E.D. Barkman, [1984?]. FHL Book 929.273 D956bj.
  • [Gaither] Gaither, George H. The American Gaither's Family Record. Momence, Ill.: n.p., 1968. FHL Film 547189.
  • [Gaither] Newman, Harry Wright. Anne Arundel Gentry. Annapolis, Md., 1971.
  • [Gaither] Society of John Gaither Descendants. The Gaither Connection: Newsletter of the Society of John Gaither Descendants, Inc. Louisville, Ky.: Society of John Gaither Descendants, 1984-. FHL Book 929.27305 G129g.
  • [Gaither] Russell, Donna Valley. First Families of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, 1649-1658. New Market, Md., 1999.
  • [Gaither] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Gassaway] Rutherford, William Kenneth and Anna Clay Zimmerman Rutherford. Genealogical History of the Gassaway Family. Lexington Mo.: Privately Printed, 1981. FHL Film 1033804 Item 6.
  • [Glover] Cohen, Lucille Vann. "Descendants of Benjamin Glover Who was Born 17 June 1754 in Ann Arundell County, Maryland and Died 20 February 1840 in Madison County, Alabama," in Lucille Vann Cohen Genealogical Collection. MSS., Temple Public Library, Temple, Texas. FHL Film 1573526 Item 3.
  • [Gookin] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Gresham] "Gresham," Virginia Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jul. 1965):50-52. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Griffith] Griffith, R.R. Genealogy of the Griffith Family: The Descendants of William and Sarah Maccubbin Griffith. Baltimore, Md.: Press of William K. Boyle & Son, 1892. FHL Book 929.273 G875c; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Griffith] Griffith, William Ridgeley. The Record of Nicholas Meriwether, of Wales, and Descendants in Virginia and Maryland. St. Louis, Mo.: Nixon-Jones Printing, 1899. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • [Gudgeon] Gudgeon, Charles A. The Gudgeons in America: A Family History. LaFarge, Wisc.: E.M. Gudgeon, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 G934g.
  • [Hall] Hall, Thomas John. The Hall Family of West River and Kindred Families. Denton, Md.: Rue Pub., 1941. FHL Film 1421418.
  • [Hall] Hall, Garrison Kent. The Pedigree of Fletcher Garrison Hall. Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 H141h.
  • [Hammond] Brown, Immogene B. Hannan. Hammond Family of Maryland: With Indiana Descendants. n.p.: I.H. Brown, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 H184bi.
  • [Hardesty] Smith, June A. "Hardesty, Anne Arundel Co., Md.," in Linthicum Family Genealogical Data, ca.1649-ca.1950. Microfilmed 1987. FHL Film 1320607 Item 8.
  • [Harrison] Crowther, C. Rodney III. "Harrison Family of Anne Arundel County, Md.," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 50 (1962):29-36, 95-100; Vol. 51, No. 3 (Sep. 1963):172-173. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 51.
  • [Hedges] Hedges, Brian K. One Branch of the Hedges Family and Their History of Over 300 Years in America. Enid, Okla.: B.K. Hedges, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 H358hbk.
  • [Hinton] Pauley, James L. Pauley: Caldwell, Crooks, Hinton, Hughes. Jefferson, Iowa: J.L. Pauley, [1995]. FHL Book 929.273 P282pj.
  • [Howard] Schenk, Casper. Andeck, American Colonial Ancestry: An Outline of the Places in History of Colonial Fathers of Our Children. Typescript, 1942. FHL Book 929.273 D668s.
  • [Howard] Mehring, A.L. The Ancestors and Descendants of Henry Howard. Adelphi, Md.: A.A. Mehring, 1966. FHL Film 1454577 Item 2; another copy: FHL Film 1405318.
  • [Jacob] Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Jenings] Monk, Arliss Shaffer. "Five Edmund Jeningses of Virginia and Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 96, No. 4 (December 2008):299-310. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 96.
  • [Jump] Englehart, Gerald D. Jump Genealogy: An American Family from Colonial Times. Ozark, Mo.: Yates Publishing, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 4941; 1985 Supplement: FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 4714.
  • [Keene] Jones, Elias. Keene Family History and Genealogy. Baltimore, Md.: Kohn and Pollock, 1923. FHL Film 1321294 Item 5; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Lane] James, Larry Alan. The Lane Family: The Ancestry and Descendants of Rev. Tidence Lane. Neosho, Mo.: L.A. James, 1982. FHL Book 929.273 L24jL.
  • [Lane] Irby, Sharon Elaine Lapp. The Lane Families of Muskingum County, Ohio. Dresden, Ohio: S.L. Irby, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 L24i.
  • [Lane] Welch, June Rayfield. The Lane Line: Notes from Samuel Lane of Pennsylvania, to Elizabeth Lane Prigmore of Kentucky and Missouri, with Connections to These Families, Prigmore, Corbin, Tidings, Wilkinson and Others. Dallas, Texas: J.R. Welch, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 L24wj.
  • [Lane] Steele, Fannie Lane. Country Roads and Lanes - The Ancestry and Descendants of General Jackson Lane.
  • [Larkin] Stickney, A.B. "The American Ancestry of John Pierpoint of (West) Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958):51-61. Digital version at American Ancestors (members only-$).
  • [Linthicum] Smith, June A. "Linthicum, Anne Arundel Co., Md.," in Linthicum Family Genealogical Data, ca.1649-ca.1950. Microfilmed 1987. FHL Film 1320607 Item 8.
  • [McNeir] McNair, James Birtley. McNair, McNear, and McNeir Genealogies. Chicago, Ill.: J.B. McNair, 1923. FHL Book 929.273 M231m.
  • [Meek] Freeburn, Eleanor Jane Hammill and Dwight Freeburn. On the Trails with Our Meek Family in America: The Descendents of Guy Meeks and the Families Who Married Into This Meek Family in America. 2 vols. Berea, Ohio: E. & D. Freeburn, [1981]. FHL Book 929.273 M471f.
  • [Meek] Meek, William Hastings. Meek Genealogy, 1600-1983. [Arnold, Calif.]: W.H. Meek, Jr., 1983. FHL Book 929.273 M471mw.
  • [Meriwether] Griffith, William Ridgeley. The Record of Nicholas Meriwether, of Wales, and Descendants in Virginia and Maryland. St. Louis, Mo.: Nixon-Jones Printing, 1899. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
  • [Midyett] Brayton, John Anderson. Order of First Families of North Carolina Ancestor Biographies Vol. 1. Memphis, Tenn., 2005. FHL Book 975.6 D3bj v. 1.
  • [Mobberley] Kainlauri, Eino O. Mobberley/Moberly/Mobley Genealogies in America Since 1686. Ames, Iowa: E.O. Kainlauri, 1996. FHL Film 1425363 Item 10; Additional material: FHL VAULT 1440330 Item 8.
  • [Mullineaux] Baldridge, Blanche Hamlett. My Virginia Kin: Comprising the Hamlett, Witt, Giles, Wills, Eubank-Fortune, Mullenix, Lynchard, Talbot and Kight Families with a Short Treatise on the Loving Family. Stawberry Point, Iowa: Press- Journal Pub., 1958.
  • [Mullineaux] Hurley, William Neal. The Mullinix [Mullineaux] Families: [Primarily of Montgomery, Frederick & Howard Counties, Maryland, but Including Numerous References to the Family Found in Other Counties and States]. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1999. FHL Book 929.273 M917h.
  • [Neale] Neall, Harry Levy and Rosalie S. Neall Cunningham. Genealogy of the American Family of Neall: It Being a Branch of the Bedfordshire, England Family of Neale, from Whose Members, Circa 1630, Came the Emigrants Who Founded the Early American Family of Neale Who Settled at Accomack, Virginia, and Salem, Massachusetts, Some of the Succeeding Generations Finding Their Permanent Location of the Eastern Shore of Maryland: This Family History Has Its More Intimate Relationship in the Descendants of Francis Neale, a Quaker, Whose Children Changed the Spelling of Their Surname to Neall. Haywood, Calif.: R.N. Cunningham, 1969. FHL Book 929.273 N259n.
  • [Norman] Thorne, Zelda Norman. Normans of Maryland. MSS., 1944. FHL Film 1036392 Item 5.
  • [Ogilvie] Ogilvie, The American Genealogist, Vol. 41: 153-157. FHL 973 D25aga v. 41
  • [Ogilvie] Russell, George E. "Patrick Ogilvie of Maryland, 1702-1717," The American Genealogist, Vol. 53, No. 2 (Apr. 1977):75. FHL 973 D25aga v. 53
  • [Owen] Owens, Clarence Rice and Katharine Bruce Jones. The Family Search of Clarence Rice Owens: For Owens and Chambers in Maryland, North Carolina, Indiana, Nebraska, Kansas, Colorado--Rice and Colton in Massachusetts, New York, Wisconsin, Minnesota, California--Patterson in Massachusetts, New York, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kansas, Nebraska--Farnam in New England, Canada, Nebraska, Kansas, Washington--Sly and Wiltse in Canada. San Francisco, Calif.: California Genealogical Society, 1975. FHL Book 929.273 Ow2oj.
  • [Owings] Owings, Addison D. and Elizabeth S. Owings. Owings and Allied Families: A Genealogy of Some of the Descendants of Richard Owings I of Maryland 1685-1975. New Orleans, La.: Polyanthos, 1976. FHL Film 928423 Item 4.
  • [Owings] Owings, Addison D. and Elizabeth S. Owings. Owings and Allied Families, 1685-1985: A Genealogy of Some of the Descendants of Richard Owings I of Maryland. Terry, Miss.: A.D. & E.S. Owings, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 Ow3oa 1985; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Parrish] Boyd, Scott Lee. The Parrish Family: Including the Allied Families of Belt, Boyd, Cole and Malone, Clockey, Garrett, Merryman, Parsons, Price, Tipton, with Special Reference to Mercelia Louise Boyd. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Boyd, 1935. FHL Film 1018876 Items 13 - 14; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Parrott] Burns, A. Robert. The Parrott - Levering Ancestors and Descendants as of 1979. Lexington, Ohio: A. B. Burns, 1979. FHL Book 929.273 P249br.
  • [Pierpont] Hedman, Kathryn Pierpont and Hattie Malone Pierpont. The Pierpoint--Pierpont Family of Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia. Alexandria, Va.: K.P. Hedman, 1953. FHL Film 1429817 Item 4.
  • [Pierpont] Stickney, A.B. "The Pierpoints of Hertfordshire, England and Ann Arundel County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 33 (1957): 236-241. FHL Book 973 D25aga v. 33; digital version at American Ancestors (members only-$).
  • [Pierpont] Stickney, A.B. "The American Ancestry of John Pierpoint of (West) Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 2, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1958):51-61. Digital version at American Ancestors (members only-$).
  • [Plummer] Plummer, Leonard Lowell. Plummer Families History: A Typical English Family Colonizes America. Lake Quivira, Kansas: L.L. Plummer, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 P736pL.
  • [Plummer] Wendling, John S. Walter W. Plummer Ancest[r]y: From the Thomas Plummer/Stockett of Maryland: Jo[se]ph W. Plummer/ Taylor of Jefferson Co., Ohio: Thomas T. Plummer/Thummel of Iowa/Nebraska. [Sandy, Utah]: J.S. Wendling, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 P736w.
  • [Poole] John Poole Association. De[s]cendants of John and Priscilla Poole of Montgomery County, Maryland. Bethesda, Md.: n.p., 1981. FHL Book 929.273 P787p.
  • [Poole] John Poole Association. Descendants of John and Priscilla Poole of Montgomery County, Maryland. [Towson, Maryland?]: John Poole Association, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 P787p 2001.
  • [Porter] Porter, William Arthur. The Descendants of Peter Porter, an Emigrant of 1621. Minneapolis, Minn.: Argus Publishing Co., 1937. FHL Book 929.273 P833pw.
  • [Prather] Brashear, Charles. Two Brashear Families of the Lower Mississippi Valley and Their Choctaw Descendants: Preliminary Draft of (Version of 4 September 1996). San Diego, Calif.: C. Brashear, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 B736bc.
  • [Pribble] Buxton, Margaret L. Majors - Pribble - Dallas Family Genealogical Data, 1660-1967. MSS. Microfilmed 1969. FHL Film 599082 Items 4-7.
  • [Pumphrey] Brayton, John Anderson. "The Pumphrey Family of Gloucestershire, Maryland, and North Carolina," North Carolina Genealogical Society Journal, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Aug. 2009):217-254. NCGS Journal ($)
  • [Rawlings] Houk, Andrew K. Rawlings History. Jamestown, Ind.: A.J. Houk, Sr., 1982. FHL Book 929.273 R199h.
  • [Ray] Wach, Nancy J. My Brother, My Son: The Ray-Ball and Related Names, History and Genealogy. Greeley, Colo.: N.J. Wach, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 R211w.
  • [Richardson] Richardson Heritage Society and Harry M. Richardson. Richardson Family Researcher & Historical News: An Aid for the Richardson-Moore and Allied Families Genealogist. Broken Bow, Ne.: Richardson Heritage Society, 1975-[2001]. FHL Book 929.27305 R393r.
  • [Riggs] Riggs, John Beverley. The Riggs Family of Maryland: A Genealogical and Historical Record, Including a Study of the Several Families in England. Baltimore, Md.: Lord Baltimore Press, 1939. FHL Book 929.273 R448r; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  • [Rogers] Gee, Mrs. Nathaniel G. "William Rogers of Annapolis, Md.," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 51, No. 2 (June 1963):100-103. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 51.
  • [Saffell] Saffell, Lester Franklin and Opal Irene Carns Saffell. Saffell Families, United States of America, 1732-1978.Renton, Wash.: L.F. and O.I.C. Saffell, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 Sa17a.
  • [Sellman] Sellman, W. Marshall. John Sellman of Maryland and Descendants. Cincinnati, Ohio: W.M. Sellman, 1975. FHL Book 929.273 Se48a.
  • [Sellman] Crabb, Martha L. Over the Mountain: A Narrative History of the Bean, Selman and Germany Families. Dumas, Texas: M.L. Crabb, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 Se49c.
  • [Shipley] The Shipleys of Maryland. Baltimore, Md.: Reese Press, 1938. FHL Book 929.273 Sh64sf; digital version at Ancestry ($). Forthcoming supplement information.
  • [Shipley] Pirtle, George William. From Whence We Came: A Personal Family Biography. Microfilmed 1978. FHL Film 1036758 Item 1.
  • [Talbott] Kitchell, Alice Kathryne Brown. Talbotts of Ripley County, Indiana and Others, 1504-1974. Typescript, Ripley County Historical Museum, Versailles, Ind. FHL Film 1312803 Item 22.
  • [Taylor] Dennstedt, Albert Marjorie. "Richard and Ann Taylor's Descendants in Maryland and Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1996):29-38; Vol. 40, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1996):134-145; Vol. 40, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1996):199-211; Vol. 40, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1996):282-293. Digital version at American Ancestors members only-($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Thomas] Jarboe, Mary. From Charlemagne to You: Charlemagne, King of the Franks, Emperor of the West 742-814. Richardson, Texas: M. Jarboe, 1998. FHL Book 929.2429 T361j.
  • [Tipton] Tipton Family Association of America and Dale Reed. TFAA Newsletter (Tipton Family Association of America). Orlando, Fla.: Tipton Family Association of America, 1987-. FHL Book 929.27305 T499.
  • [Trundle] Hurley, William Neal. Trundle and Allied Families of Montgomery County, Maryland: Being Primarily a Study of the Montgomery County Families of: Appleby, Arnold, Brewer, Dade, Dickerson, Fletchall, Hempstone, Sellman and Trundle Families; and Including References to Numerous Other Allied Maryland Families of Montgomery and Frederick Counties. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 T773h.
  • [Trundle] Flinn, Richard D. The Trundle (Trunnell) Family of Maryland. Hillsboro, Ohio: R.D. Flinn, 2000. FHL Book 929.273 T773f.
  • [Tydings] Tydings, W. Harold. Tydings Family History. 5 vols. Broken Arrow, Okla.: W.H. Tydings, 2003. FHL Book 929.273 T968t v. 1-5.
  • [Underwood] DeWees, Robert L. Ancestors and Descendants, Israel Underwood Family. Mt. Clemens, Mich.: R. L. DeWees, 1970. FHL Book 929.273 Un2d.
  • [Underwood] Lewis, Billie Redding. Across the Blue Ridge - Supplement. Lake Wales, Fla.: B.R. Lewis, [c1991?]. FHL Book 929.273 J71L supp..
  • [Underwood] Lewis, Billie Redding. Thomas Underwood (1650) and His Descendants (Including Kin with Royal Ancestry). Lake Wales, Fla.: B.R. Lewis, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 Un2L.
  • [Underwood] Lewis, Billie Redding. Thomas Underwood, 1650 Immigrant: His Descendants & Their Families. Lake Wales, Fla.: B.R. Lewis, 1993. FHL Book 929.273 Un2La.
  • [Underwood] Lewis, Billie Redding. Early Blue Ridge Mountain Settlers. Decorah, Iowa: Anundsen, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 Un2Lb.
  • [Underwood] Lewis, Billie Redding. Southern Underwoods and Martins: With Related Families and Royal Links. Decorah, Iowa: Anundsen, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 Un2Lbr.
  • [Utie] "Captain John Utie, of Utimaria, Esq.," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 1 (Jul. 1895):52-58. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
  • [Welling] Welling, William Brayshaw. The Welling Family of Howard County, Maryland, 1979: With Addenda Covering the Following Connected Families, Winchester, Crawford, de Lacy, Brayshaw, Gist, Sykes, Warfield and Nichols. Sykesville, Md.: W.B. Welling, Jr., 1980. FHL Book 929.273 W46ww [includes supplements]
  • [Welsh] Welsh, Luther Winfield. Ancestral Colonial Families--Genealogy of the Welsh and Hyatt Families of Maryland and Their Kin: Giving the Colonial Generations of the Howard, Hammond, Maccubbin, Griffith, Greenberry, Dorsey, Van Sweringen, Baldwin, Gaither, Warfield and Duvall Families. Kansas City, Mo.: L.W. Welsh, 1928. FHL Fiche 6046865; digital version at Ancestry ($); World Vital Records ($).
  • [Welsh] Russell, George Ely. "Molly Welsh: Alleged Grandmother of Benjamin Banneker," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 94, No. 4 (December 2006):305-314. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 94 (2006).
  • [White] Brayton, John Anderson. Order of First Families of North Carolina Ancestor Biographies Vol. 1. Memphis, Tenn., 2005. FHL Book 975.6 D3bj v. 1.
  • [Williams] Birch, Nicki Peak. "Tracking Basil Williams of Maryland and Pennsylvania Through Changing Residences and Multiple Marriages," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 96, No. 1 (March 2008):23-37. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 96.
  • [Yate] Hunt, J.G. "English Ancestry of George Yate of Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly. FHL Book 929.273 Y27h.
  • [Young] Aday, Mildred Y. Ancestror [sic] Tables: Caldwell, Decker, Drake, Eakin, Frame, Hall, Jackson, Johnston, Loshbaugh, McWilliams, Richardson, Ruggles, Shaw, Thompson, Wherry, Young: (An Interim Report Made During Preparation of a Family History). Lakewood, Colo.: M.Y. Aday, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 Y84am.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Anne Arundel County Deed Books (1653-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Anne Arundel County men served in the 3rd Maryland Regiment,[7] the 4th Maryland Regiment,[8] and the 6th Maryland Regiment.[9]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Anne Arundel County on page 127.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Anne Arundel County, pp. 110-111. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Anne Arundel served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Anne Arundel:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1678, 1681 1678 and 1681 Anne Arundel County tax lists, available online, courtesy: MDGenWeb.
  • 1783 Anne Arundel County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Maryland State Law Library
    Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
    361 Rowe Blvd.
    Annapolis, MD 21401
    Phone: 410-260-1430
    Fax: 410-260-1572
    Email: lawlibrary@mdcourts.gov
    Website

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

  • Simmons, Tina. “Research in Anne Arundel County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 53, no. 1 (2012): 101-126.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Arundel," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Arundel_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Anne Arundel County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Anne Arundel County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Arundel_County,_Maryland, accessed 29 July 2018.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "3rd Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3rd_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "4th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.