Angus (or Forfarshire), Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United Kingdom
Scotland
Angus
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources
Scotland-angus.png

Guide to Angus ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Background

Angus (formerly Forfarshire until 1928) is a maritime county in the east of Scotland. It is bounded on the north by the counties of Aberdeen and Kincardine, on the east by the German Ocean, on the south by the Firth of Tay, and on the west by Perthshire.  It is about 38 1/2 miles in length and 37 1/2 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 840 square miles or 537,600 acres.  The county or area was anciently called Angus after the brother of King Kenneth II to whom it was granted by the king after his victory over the Picts.  It was later called Forfarshire after the county town of Forfar. [Apparently the name changed back to Angus in 1950.]

The county is comprised of fifty-five parishes and two civil districts of Forfar and Dundee.  The royal burghs are Forfar, Dundee, Arbroath, Montrose, and Brechin.  The market-towns are Kirriemuir and Glammis, and there are several smaller towns and villages.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  FHL book 941 E5L.)

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.


Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Angus (or Forfarshire) for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Some of the Angus (or Forfarshire) parish records are indexed in Angus (or Forfarshire), Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.

This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Angus (or Forfarshire) in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of the historic parishes of the county of Angus (or Forfarshire) with their parish numbers. Click on the parish name to see information about records. Click on the link for an outline map of the parishes of Angus.

Parish No.   Parish No.
Aberlemno 269   Kinnell 296
Airlie 270   Kinnettles 297
Arbirlot 271   Kirkden 298
Arbroath 272   Kirriemuir 299
Auchterhouse 273   Lethnott and Navar 300 
Barry & Carnoustie 274   Liff, Benvie & Invergowrie 301 
Benvie -- see Liff, Benvie & Invergowrie 301   Lintrathen 302 
Brechin 275   Lochlee 303
Carmyllie 276   Logie-Pert 304
Careston 277   Lunan 305
Cortachy & Clova 278   Lundie and Fowlis 306
Coupar-Angus 279   Mains and Strathmartine 307
Craig 280   Maryton 308
Dun 281   Menmuir 309
Dundee 282   Methy -- see Inverarity & Methy 292 
Dunnichen 283   Monifieth 310
Eassie and Nevay 284   Monikie 311
Edzell 285   Montrose 312
Farnell 286   Murroes 313 
Fearn 287   Lethnott and Navar 300
Forfar 288   Nevay -- see Eassie and Nevay 284 
Fowlis -- see Lundie and Fowlis 306   Newtyle 314
Glammis 289   Oathlaw 315
Glenisla 290   Panbride 316
Guthrie 291   Rescobie 317 
Inchbrayock -- see Craig 280 Ruthven  318
Inverarity & Methy 292   St. Vigeans  319
Inverkeilor 293 Stracathro 320 
Invergowrie -- see Liff, Benvie & Invergowrie 301 Strathmartine -- see Mains and Strathmartine 307
Kettins 294 Tannadice 321
Kingoldrum 295 Tealing 322

Biographies

Directories

Courtesy of the National Library of Scotland:

PO Directories Online:

The above directories includes the following areas:

  • Montrose
  • Forfar
  • Brechin
  • Arbroath
  • Kirriemuir 

Maps

Poorhouses

There were 5 workhouses in this county:

A description with drawings and photos of them today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled "The Workhouse: The Story of an Institution" which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.

Societies

In every county in Scotland there are one or more family history societies made up of members with genealogical interests in their areas. A coordinating organization for many societies is the Scottish Association of Family History Societies (SAFHS). The society publishes the SAFHS Bulletin, which contains news and updates on its member societies. For information about this organization and its member societies, contact or visit their website at:

Tay Valley Family History Society
179 - 181 Princes Street
Dundee
DD4 6DQ
Scotland, UK

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
EDINBURGH
EH1 2JL
Scotland


Websites