Anglesey Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Anglesey Wiki Topics
Anglesey flag.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources
Wales
Anglesey
Archives and Libraries

Record Offices

Anglesey Record Office
Anglesey Archives
Industrial Estate Road
Bryn Cefni Industrial Estate
Llangefni LL77 7JA UK
Telephone: 1248 751930
Email: archives@ynysmon.gov.uk
Website: Anglesey Record Office

Anglesey Record Office collects and preserves documents and resources relating to Anglesey Island, dating from the sixteenth century to the present day. If your ancestors lived on Anglesey and you are interested in discovering more about them, a trip to the Record Office is well worth the journey.
Records held by the Archive include parish registers, non-conformist registers, census returns, wills and testaments, maps and plans, photographs, newspapers, education records, local government records, quarter session records, crew lists, and land tax records.

Libraries

Amlwch Library
Parys Rd
Amlwch LL68 9AB UK
Telephone: 1407 830145
Email: kbxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Amlwch Library

Beaumaris Library
Grammar School Lane
Beaumaris LL58 8AL UK
Telephone: 1248 810659
Email: ddxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Beaumaris Library

Cemaes Library
Longlascoed
Cemaes Bay LL67 0NN UK
Telephone: 1407 711025
Email: kcxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Cemaes Library

Holyhead Library
Newry St
Holyhead LL65 1LA UK
Telephone: 1407 762917
Email: kpxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Holyhead Library

Llangefni Library
Lôn y Felin
Llangefni LL77 7RT UK
Telephone: 01248 752095
Email: llyfrgelloedd@ynysmon.gov.uk
Website: Llangefni Library

Menai Bridge Library
Wood St
Menai Bridge LL59 5AS UK
Telephone: 1248 712706
Email: dbxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Menai Bridge Library

Moelfre Library
13 Ffordd Lligwy
Moelfre LL72 8LS UK
Telephone: 01248 410331
Email: dfxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Moelfre Library

Rhosneigr Library
1 Awel-Y-Mor
Rhosneigr LL64 5UJ UK
Telephone: 1407 811293
Email: kdxlh@anglesey.gov.uk
Website: Rhosneigr Library

Museums

Anglesey Transport Museum (Tacla Taid)
Tyddyn Pwrpas
Newborough LL61 6TN UK
Telephone: 1248 440344
Email: email@angleseytransportmuseum.co.uk
Website: Anglesey Transport Museum

Walk back in time and see over 100 classic vehicles dating from the 1920s onward. Set in a replica of a 1940s cobbled street, you can view an assortment of agricultural, military, and civilian vehicles including cars, motorbikes, tractors, army trucks, armoured personnel carriers, and more.

Anglesey’s Centre for Art and History (Oriel Ynys Môn)
Rhosmeirch
Llangefni LL77 7TQ UK
Telephone: 01248 724444
Email: orielynysmon@ynysmon.gov.uk
Website: Anglesey’s Centre for Art and History

The History Gallery gives an introduction to the island’s past.

Copper Kingdom Centre
Amlwch Port LL68 9DB UK
Telephone: 1407 830298
Email: admin@copperkingdom.co.uk
Website: Copper Kingdom Centre

The Copper Kingdom Centre is located on the quayside in the picturesque fishing harbour of Amlwch port. This awarding-winning centre tells the tales of the transformation of the district.

Holyhead Maritime Museum (Amgueddfa Arforol Caergybi)
1 Walthew Ave
Holyhead LL65 1AF UK
Telephone: 01407 769745
Email: lindahadley28@yahoo.com
Website: Holyhead Maritime Museum

Situated at picturesque Newry Beach, the museum is a fascinating family experience. Take a step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales. Learn about shipwrecks, gallant rescues, and pirates. Find out what it was like to sail on the Irish Sea 100 years ago. Visit our WW2 Air Raid Shelter and marvel at our collection of WW1 and WW2 memorabilia. You can even test out our authentic Air Raid Siren!

The Old Court House Museum
Beaumaris Gaol and Courthouse Museum
Steeple Lane
Beaumaris LL58 8EP UK
Telephone: 01248 ​810921
Website: The Old Court House Museum

The courthouse was constructed in 1614, and renovated in the 19th century. Here visitors can walk through the large rectangular courtroom, stand in the original dock, and view the splendour of the grand jury room.

Stone Science
Bryn Eglwys
Llanddyfnan
Pentraeth LL75 8UL UK
Telephone: 1248 450310
Email: dave@stonescience.fsbusiness.co.uk
Website: Stone Science

The Stone Science Museum opened in 1989, near the Isle of Anglesey’s east coast. From the very beginning visitors loved its novel and innovative approach to all things stone and bone. It quickly became, and remains, one of the island’s most popular visitor attractions, seeing hundreds of families and schools through its doors each year.

Swtan Heritage Museum
Dilwyn
Church Bay LL65 4ET UK
Telephone: 1407 730186
Email: swtan@hotmail.co.uk
Website: Swtan Heritage Museum

Swtan (pronounced Su-tan) is a fully restored example of a 17th century Welsh cottage with a thatched roof. It is situated on the beautiful north west coast of Anglesey, in the picturesque village of Church Bay (Porth Swtan).

Archives

Anglesey Archives (Archifau Ynys Môn)
Industrial Estate Road
Bryn Cefni Industrial Estate
Llangefni LL77 7JA UK
Telephone: 1248 751930
Email: archives@ynysmon.gov.uk
Website: Anglesey Archives

Anglesey Archives collects and preserve historical documents relating to the island of Anglesey and makes them available to anyone who wishes to use them.