To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Androscoggin County, Maine)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Androscoggin County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Androscoggin County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Androscoggin County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded March 18, 1854
County Seat Auburn
Courthouse
Address Androscoggin County Courthouse
2 Turner
Auburn, ME 04210
Phone: 207.784.8390
Androscoggin County Website


Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Androscoggin tribe. The County has Auburn as its seat and the County was created March 18, 1854. The County is located in the south west area of the state.[1]

Androscoggin County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1851 1892 1854 1854 1854 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

  • Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1854.
  • City Clerk has birth, marriage, divorce and burial records.
  • Register of Probate has probate records.
  • Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1854 - Created 18 March 1854 from parts of Cumberland, Oxford, Kennebec and Lincoln counties.[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Cumberland | Oxford | Franklin | Kennebec | Sagadahoc
MaineAndroscoggin CountyCumberland CountySagadahoc CountyKennebec CountyFranklin CountyOxford CountyLivermoreLivermore FallsTurnerLeedsGreeneWalesMinotAuburnLewistonSabattusLisbonDurhamPolandMechanic FallsCascoRaymondGrayNew GloucesterPownalNorth YarmouthFreeportBrunswickTopshamBowdoinLitchfieldMonmouthWinthropWayneReadfieldFayetteMount VernonRomeViennaChestervilleJayOtisfieldOxfordHebronParisBuckfieldWest ParisWoodstockSummerHartfordCantonPeruDixfieldRumfordMexico
Modern town borders in Androscoggin County, Maine.


Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MEInterment
Billion Graves
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

Androscoggin County Death records

Androscoggin County, Maine Cemeteries
Name Location Death Records
Alden (Columbus) Cemetery Latitude: 44.4161771 Longitude: -70.240614 Androscoggin death records
Atkinson Cemetery, Minot Latitude: 44.1525714 Longitude: -70.3517231 Androscoggin death records
Auburn Plains Cemetery Latitude: 44.172016 Longitude: -70.2319993
Androscoggin death records
Bear Pond Cemetery Longitude: -70.27032 Longitude: -70.27032 Androscoggin death records
Beth Abraham Cemetery Latitude: 44.0447963 Longitude: -70.2353317 Androscoggin death records
Blake Cemetery Latitude: 44.0136874 Longitude: -70.1200532 Androscoggin death records
Brackett Cemetery Latitude: 44.4514543 Longitude: -70.1672799 Androscoggin death records
Briggs Cemetery Latitude: 44.1256282 Longitude: -70.2300545 Androscoggin death records
Broadview Cemetery Latitude: 44.10592 Longitude: -70.18744 Androscoggin death records
Brookvale Cemetery Latitude: 44.1486829 Longitude: -70.2869999
Androscoggin death records
Buckman Cemetery Latitude: 44.1486829 Longitude: -70.2869999 Androscoggin death records
Calvary Cemetery Latitude: 44.0097995 Longitude: -70.0528306 Androscoggin death records
Cedar Grove Cemetery Latitude: 43.93734 Longitude: -70.15453 Androscoggin death records
Center Hill Cemetery Latitude: 44.1325719 Longitude: -70.3158891 Androscoggin death records
Clough Cemetery Latitude: 44.0627 Longitude: -70.14846 Androscoggin death records
Conant Cemetery Latitude: 44.1817382 Longitude: -70.2167213 Androscoggin death records
Cotton Cemetery Latitude: 44.0242426 Longitude: -70.130331
Androscoggin death records
Davis Cemetery Latitude: 44.0631307 Longitude: -70.1167198 Androscoggin death records
Davis Cemetery Latitude: 44.0692406 Longitude: -70.2092206 Androscoggin death records
Davis Cemetery Latitude: 44.1006289 Longitude: -70.2067207
Androscoggin death records
Davis-Bryant Cemetery Latitude: 44.07268 Longitude: -70.10872 Androscoggin death records
Deane Cemetery Latitude: 44.1417382 Longitude: -70.3611677
Androscoggin death records
East Leeds Cemetery Latitude: 44.3000692 Longitude: -70.1181095 Androscoggin death records
East Wales Cemetery Latitude: 44.15323 Longitude: -70.04009
Androscoggin death records
Eaton Cemetery Latitude: 44.1225737 Longitude: -70.110053
Androscoggin death records
Evergreen Cemetery Latitude: 44.0853509 Longitude: -70.2575546
Androscoggin death records

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Oxford CountyFranklin CountyAndroscoggin CountyKennebec CountySagadahoc CountyCumberland CountyME Androscoggin.jpg
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies F, H and K.
- 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Companies F, H and K.
- 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Companies E and K.

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1785-1950 - Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.

Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Androscoggin County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Androscoggin, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Androscoggin_County,_Maine."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Androscoggin County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Androscoggin County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Androscoggin_County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Androscoggin_County,_Maine, accessed 27 February 2019.